University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

MATHS 2100 - Real Analysis II

Career: Undergraduate
Units: 3
Term: 3820
Campus: North Terrace
Contact: Up to 4 hours per week
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: Yes
Available for Non-Award Study: Yes
Pre-Requisite: MATHS 1012
Assessment: ongoing assessment, examination
Syllabus:

Much of mathematics relies on our ability to be able to solve equations, if not in explicit exact forms, then at least in being able to establish the existence of solutions. To do this requires a knowledge of so-called "analysis", which in many respects is just Calculus in very general settings. The foundations for this work are commenced in Real Analysis, a course that develops this basic material in a systematic and rigorous manner in the context of real-valued functions of a real variable. Topics covered are: Basic set theory. The real numbers and their basic properties. Sequences: convergence, subsequences, Cauchy sequences. Open, closed, and compact sets of real numbers. Continuous functions and uniform continuity. The Riemann integral. Differentiation and Mean Value theorems. The Fundamental Theorem of Calculus. Series. Power series and Taylor series. Convergence of sequences and series of functions.

Course Fees

Course fees are displayed for the Program: select program

Study Abroad student tuition fees available here

Only some Postgraduate Coursework programs are available as Commonwealth Supported. Please check your program for specific fee information

  Commonwealth Supported Student Contribution
Tuition Fees
Units EFTSL Pre-2010 2010 Onwards Domestic International
3 0.125 Band 2 $1,169 Band 2 $1,169 select program select program


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
3820 Mon 06/08/2018 Fri 31/08/2018 Fri 14/09/2018 Fri 26/10/2018


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
20861 LE01 90 16 24 Jul - 11 Sep Tuesday 11am - 12pm Barr Smith South, 534, Forum Lecture Theatre
26 Jul - 26 Jul Thursday 2pm - 3pm Barr Smith South, 534, Forum Lecture Theatre
27 Jul - 14 Sep Friday 12pm - 1pm Engineering Sth, S112, Teaching Room
9 Aug - 9 Aug Thursday 2pm - 3pm Barr Smith South, 534, Forum Lecture Theatre
23 Aug - 23 Aug Thursday 2pm - 3pm Barr Smith South, 534, Forum Lecture Theatre
6 Sep - 6 Sep Thursday 2pm - 3pm Barr Smith South, 534, Forum Lecture Theatre
2 Oct - 23 Oct Tuesday 11am - 12pm Barr Smith South, 534, Forum Lecture Theatre
4 Oct - 4 Oct Thursday 2pm - 3pm Barr Smith South, 534, Forum Lecture Theatre
5 Oct - 26 Oct Friday 12pm - 1pm Engineering Sth, S112, Teaching Room
18 Oct - 18 Oct Thursday 2pm - 3pm Barr Smith South, 534, Forum Lecture Theatre
Related Class: Tutorial
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
20859 TU02 27 4 25 Jul - 25 Jul Wednesday 2pm - 3pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG06, Teaching Room
8 Aug - 8 Aug Wednesday 2pm - 3pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG06, Teaching Room
22 Aug - 22 Aug Wednesday 2pm - 3pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG06, Teaching Room
5 Sep - 5 Sep Wednesday 2pm - 3pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG06, Teaching Room
3 Oct - 3 Oct Wednesday 2pm - 3pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG06, Teaching Room
17 Oct - 17 Oct Wednesday 2pm - 3pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG06, Teaching Room
20860 TU03 31 8 26 Jul - 26 Jul Thursday 12pm - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
9 Aug - 9 Aug Thursday 12pm - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
23 Aug - 23 Aug Thursday 12pm - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
6 Sep - 6 Sep Thursday 12pm - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
4 Oct - 4 Oct Thursday 12pm - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
18 Oct - 18 Oct Thursday 12pm - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
21036 TU04 31 3 27 Jul - 27 Jul Friday 1pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG06, Teaching Room
10 Aug - 10 Aug Friday 1pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG06, Teaching Room
24 Aug - 24 Aug Friday 1pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG06, Teaching Room
7 Sep - 7 Sep Friday 1pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG06, Teaching Room
5 Oct - 5 Oct Friday 1pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG06, Teaching Room
19 Oct - 19 Oct Friday 1pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG06, Teaching Room
Related Class: Workshop
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
28639 WR01 90 16 2 Aug - 2 Aug Thursday 2pm - 3pm Barr Smith South, 534, Forum Lecture Theatre
16 Aug - 16 Aug Thursday 2pm - 3pm Barr Smith South, 534, Forum Lecture Theatre
30 Aug - 30 Aug Thursday 2pm - 3pm Barr Smith South, 534, Forum Lecture Theatre
13 Sep - 13 Sep Thursday 2pm - 3pm Barr Smith South, 534, Forum Lecture Theatre
11 Oct - 11 Oct Thursday 2pm - 3pm Barr Smith South, 534, Forum Lecture Theatre
25 Oct - 25 Oct Thursday 2pm - 3pm Barr Smith South, 534, Forum Lecture Theatre