University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

MATHS 2102 - Differential Equations II

Career: Undergraduate
Units: 3
Term: 3810
Campus: North Terrace
Contact: Up to 3.5 hours per week
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: Yes
Available for Non-Award Study: Yes
Pre-Requisite: MATHS 1012
Incompatible: MATHS 2201
Assessment: ongoing assessment, examination
Syllabus:

Most "real life" systems that are described mathematically, be they physical, biological, financial or economic, are described by means of differential equations. Our ability to predict the way in which these systems evolve or behave is determined by our ability to model these systems and find solutions of the equations explicitly or approximately. Every application and differential equation presents its own challenges, but there are various classes of differential equations, and for some of these there are established approaches and methods for solving them. Topics covered are: first order ordinary differential equations (ODEs), higher order ODEs, systems of ODEs, series solutions of ODEs, interpretation of solutions, Fourier analysis and solution of linear partial differential equations using the method of separation of variables.

Course Fees

Course fees are displayed for the Program: select program

Study Abroad student tuition fees available here

Only some Postgraduate Coursework programs are available as Commonwealth Supported. Please check your program for specific fee information

  Commonwealth Supported Student Contribution
Tuition Fees
Units EFTSL Pre-2010 2010 Onwards Domestic International
3 0.125 Band 2 $1,169 Band 2 $1,169 select program select program


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
3810 Mon 12/03/2018 Sat 31/03/2018 Fri 04/05/2018 Fri 08/06/2018


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
12604 LE01 150 13 26 Feb - 26 Mar Monday 10am - 11am Napier, G04, Lecture Theatre
1 Mar - 29 Mar Thursday 3pm - 4pm Napier, G04, Lecture Theatre
2 Mar - 30 Mar Friday 9am - 10am Napier, G04, Lecture Theatre
16 Apr - 4 Jun Monday 10am - 11am Napier, G04, Lecture Theatre
19 Apr - 7 Jun Thursday 3pm - 4pm Napier, G04, Lecture Theatre
20 Apr - 8 Jun Friday 9am - 10am Napier, G04, Lecture Theatre
Related Class: Tutorial
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
12243 TU05 28 2 5 Mar - 5 Mar Monday 12pm - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
19 Mar - 19 Mar Monday 12pm - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
16 Apr - 16 Apr Monday 12pm - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
30 Apr - 30 Apr Monday 12pm - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
14 May - 14 May Monday 12pm - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
28 May - 28 May Monday 12pm - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
12605 TU01 26 FULL 8 Mar - 8 Mar Thursday 1pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
22 Mar - 22 Mar Thursday 1pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
19 Apr - 19 Apr Thursday 1pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
3 May - 3 May Thursday 1pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
17 May - 17 May Thursday 1pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
31 May - 31 May Thursday 1pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
12606 TU02 26 5 6 Mar - 6 Mar Tuesday 1pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
20 Mar - 20 Mar Tuesday 1pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
17 Apr - 17 Apr Tuesday 1pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
1 May - 1 May Tuesday 1pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
15 May - 15 May Tuesday 1pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
29 May - 29 May Tuesday 1pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
12607 TU03 28 4 5 Mar - 5 Mar Monday 3pm - 4pm Hughes, 323, Teaching Room
19 Mar - 19 Mar Monday 3pm - 4pm Hughes, 323, Teaching Room
16 Apr - 16 Apr Monday 3pm - 4pm Hughes, 323, Teaching Room
30 Apr - 30 Apr Monday 3pm - 4pm Hughes, 323, Teaching Room
14 May - 14 May Monday 3pm - 4pm Hughes, 323, Teaching Room
28 May - 28 May Monday 3pm - 4pm Hughes, 323, Teaching Room
15205 TU06 28 11 6 Mar - 6 Mar Tuesday 4pm - 5pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
20 Mar - 20 Mar Tuesday 4pm - 5pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
17 Apr - 17 Apr Tuesday 4pm - 5pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
1 May - 1 May Tuesday 4pm - 5pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
15 May - 15 May Tuesday 4pm - 5pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
29 May - 29 May Tuesday 4pm - 5pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
15406 TU04 28 5 8 Mar - 8 Mar Thursday 10am - 11am Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
22 Mar - 22 Mar Thursday 10am - 11am Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
19 Apr - 19 Apr Thursday 10am - 11am Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
3 May - 3 May Thursday 10am - 11am Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
17 May - 17 May Thursday 10am - 11am Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
31 May - 31 May Thursday 10am - 11am Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room