University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

MATHS 2103 - Probability & Statistics II

Career: Undergraduate
Units: 3
Term: 3810
Campus: North Terrace
Contact: Up to 3.5 hours per week
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: Yes
Available for Non-Award Study: Yes
Pre-Requisite: MATHS 1012
Assessment: ongoing assessment, examination
Syllabus:

Probability theory is the branch of mathematics that deals with modelling uncertainty. It is important because of its direct application in areas such as genetics, finance and telecommunications. It also forms the fundamental basis for many other areas in the mathematical sciences including statistics, modern optimisation methods and risk modelling. This course provides an introduction to probability theory, random variables and Markov processes. Topics covered are: probability axioms, conditional probability; Bayes' theorem; discrete random variables, moments, bounding probabilities, probability generating functions, standard discrete distributions; continuous random variables, uniform, normal, Cauchy, exponential, gamma and chi-square distributions, transformations, the Poisson process; bivariate distributions, marginal and conditional distributions, independence, covariance and correlation, linear combinations of two random variables, bivariate normal distribution; sequences of independent random variables, the weak law of large numbers, the central limit theorem; definition and properties of a Markov chain and probability transition matrices; methods for solving equilibrium equations, absorbing Markov chains.

Course Fees

Course fees are displayed for the Program: select program

Study Abroad student tuition fees available here

Only some Postgraduate Coursework programs are available as Commonwealth Supported. Please check your program for specific fee information

  Commonwealth Supported Student Contribution
Tuition Fees
Units EFTSL Pre-2010 2010 Onwards Domestic International
3 0.125 Band 2 $1,169 Band 2 $1,169 select program select program


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
3810 Mon 12/03/2018 Sat 31/03/2018 Fri 04/05/2018 Fri 08/06/2018


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
10324 LE01 98 13 27 Feb - 27 Mar Tuesday 12pm - 1pm Darling West, G14, Darling West Lecture Theatre
1 Mar - 29 Mar Thursday 2pm - 3pm Barr Smith South, 534, Forum Lecture Theatre
2 Mar - 30 Mar Friday 10am - 11am Barr Smith South, 534, Forum Lecture Theatre
17 Apr - 5 Jun Tuesday 12pm - 1pm Darling West, G14, Darling West Lecture Theatre
19 Apr - 7 Jun Thursday 2pm - 3pm Barr Smith South, 534, Forum Lecture Theatre
20 Apr - 8 Jun Friday 10am - 11am Barr Smith South, 534, Forum Lecture Theatre
18998 LEC0 25 13 No details available
Note: Non- Attendance Lecture Mode - view via MyUni
Related Class: Tutorial
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
10319 TU04 30 8 9 Mar - 9 Mar Friday 2pm - 3pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
23 Mar - 23 Mar Friday 2pm - 3pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
20 Apr - 20 Apr Friday 2pm - 3pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
4 May - 4 May Friday 2pm - 3pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
18 May - 18 May Friday 2pm - 3pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
1 Jun - 1 Jun Friday 2pm - 3pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
12600 TU01 30 4 6 Mar - 6 Mar Tuesday 1pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG06, Teaching Room
20 Mar - 20 Mar Tuesday 1pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG06, Teaching Room
17 Apr - 17 Apr Tuesday 1pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG06, Teaching Room
1 May - 1 May Tuesday 1pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG06, Teaching Room
15 May - 15 May Tuesday 1pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG06, Teaching Room
29 May - 29 May Tuesday 1pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG06, Teaching Room
12601 TU02 30 6 7 Mar - 7 Mar Wednesday 3pm - 4pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
21 Mar - 21 Mar Wednesday 3pm - 4pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
18 Apr - 18 Apr Wednesday 3pm - 4pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
2 May - 2 May Wednesday 3pm - 4pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
16 May - 16 May Wednesday 3pm - 4pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
30 May - 30 May Wednesday 3pm - 4pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
12602 TU03 31 6 9 Mar - 9 Mar Friday 11am - 12pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
23 Mar - 23 Mar Friday 11am - 12pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
20 Apr - 20 Apr Friday 11am - 12pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
4 May - 4 May Friday 11am - 12pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
18 May - 18 May Friday 11am - 12pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
1 Jun - 1 Jun Friday 11am - 12pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
Related Class: Small Group Discovery
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
10574 SG04 33 9 14 Mar - 14 Mar Wednesday 3pm - 4pm Ingkarni Wardli, B23, CAT Suite
28 Mar - 28 Mar Wednesday 3pm - 4pm Ingkarni Wardli, B23, CAT Suite
9 May - 9 May Wednesday 3pm - 4pm Ingkarni Wardli, B23, CAT Suite
10575 SG03 31 10 15 Mar - 15 Mar Thursday 9am - 10am Engineering & Mathematics, EM106, Computer Suite
29 Mar - 29 Mar Thursday 9am - 10am Engineering & Mathematics, EM106, Computer Suite
10 May - 10 May Thursday 9am - 10am Engineering & Mathematics, EM106, Computer Suite
11001 SG02 27 FULL 14 Mar - 14 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 3pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM106, Computer Suite
28 Mar - 28 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 3pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM106, Computer Suite
9 May - 9 May Wednesday 2pm - 3pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM106, Computer Suite
12760 SG01 27 2 15 Mar - 15 Mar Thursday 10am - 11am Engineering & Mathematics, EM106, Computer Suite
29 Mar - 29 Mar Thursday 10am - 11am Engineering & Mathematics, EM106, Computer Suite
10 May - 10 May Thursday 10am - 11am Engineering & Mathematics, EM106, Computer Suite