University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

PURE MTH 2106 - Algebra II

Career: Undergraduate
Units: 3
Term: 3810
Campus: North Terrace
Contact: Up to 3.5 hours per week
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: Yes
Available for Non-Award Study: Yes
Pre-Requisite: MATHS 1012
Assessment: ongoing assessment, exam
Syllabus:

Knowledge of group theory and of linear algebra is important for an understanding of many areas of pure and applied mathematics, including advanced algebra and analysis, number theory, coding theory, cryptography and differential equations. There are also important applications in the physical sciences. Topics covered are (1) Equivalence relations (2) Groups: subgroups, cyclic groups, cosets, Lagrange's theorem, normal subgroups and factor groups. Examples of finite and infinite groups, including groups of symmetries and permutations, groups of numbers and matrices. Homomorphism and isomorphism of groups. (3) Linear algebra: vector spaces, bases, linear transformations and matrices, subspaces, sums and quotients of spaces, dual spaces, bilinear forms and inner product spaces, and canonical forms.

Course Fees

Course fees are displayed for the Program: select program

Study Abroad student tuition fees available here

Only some Postgraduate Coursework programs are available as Commonwealth Supported. Please check your program for specific fee information

  Commonwealth Supported Student Contribution
Tuition Fees
Units EFTSL Pre-2010 2010 Onwards Domestic International
3 0.125 Band 2 $1,169 Band 2 $1,169 select program select program


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
3810 Mon 12/03/2018 Sat 31/03/2018 Fri 04/05/2018 Fri 08/06/2018


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
12613 LE01 60 26 26 Feb - 26 Mar Monday 1pm - 2pm Helen Mayo Nth, 103N, Florey Lecture Theatre
27 Feb - 27 Mar Tuesday 3pm - 4pm The Braggs, G60, Bragg Lecture Theatre
2 Mar - 30 Mar Friday 3pm - 4pm Napier, 209, Lecture Theatre
16 Apr - 4 Jun Monday 1pm - 2pm Helen Mayo Nth, 103N, Florey Lecture Theatre
17 Apr - 5 Jun Tuesday 3pm - 4pm The Braggs, G60, Bragg Lecture Theatre
20 Apr - 8 Jun Friday 3pm - 4pm Napier, 209, Lecture Theatre
Related Class: Tutorial
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
12614 TU01 20 4 9 Mar - 9 Mar Friday 12pm - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
23 Mar - 23 Mar Friday 12pm - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
20 Apr - 20 Apr Friday 12pm - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
4 May - 4 May Friday 12pm - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
18 May - 18 May Friday 12pm - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
1 Jun - 1 Jun Friday 12pm - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
12615 TU02 20 9 7 Mar - 7 Mar Wednesday 12pm - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
21 Mar - 21 Mar Wednesday 12pm - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
18 Apr - 18 Apr Wednesday 12pm - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
2 May - 2 May Wednesday 12pm - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
16 May - 16 May Wednesday 12pm - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
30 May - 30 May Wednesday 12pm - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
12616 TU03 20 13 5 Mar - 5 Mar Monday 4pm - 5pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG06, Teaching Room
19 Mar - 19 Mar Monday 4pm - 5pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG06, Teaching Room
16 Apr - 16 Apr Monday 4pm - 5pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG06, Teaching Room
30 Apr - 30 Apr Monday 4pm - 5pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG06, Teaching Room
14 May - 14 May Monday 4pm - 5pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG06, Teaching Room
28 May - 28 May Monday 4pm - 5pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG06, Teaching Room