University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

PHYSICS 1200 - Physics IB

Career: Undergraduate
Units: 3
Term: 3120
Campus: North Terrace
Contact: Up to 7 hours per week
Available for Non-Award Study: No
Pre-Requisite: PHYSICS 1100
Co-Requisite: MATHS 1012 - students may be permitted to enrol in Physics IB concurrently with MATHS 1011 on application to Head of Discipline
Assumed Knowledge: MATHS 1011 or MATHS 1013
Incompatible: PHYSICS 1201
Assessment: Written exam, in-semester tests, tutorial preparation, practical work
Syllabus:

This calculus-based course completes the Level I sequence for a major in physics, and also provides a quantitative understanding of physics concepts applicable in biological and geological sciences and in Engineering. Rigid body mechanics: centre of mass, rotational motion, torque, angular momentum, equilibrium, oscillations Waves and Optics: transverse and longitudinal waves, superposition, interference, standing waves, Fourier decomposition, Fermat's principle, geometric optics, physical optics, interference, Michelson interferometers, thin film interference, diffraction, resolution of telescopes. Relativity and Quantum Physics: kinematics, time dilation, length contraction, Lorentz transformations, transformation of velocities, relativistic momentum and energy, X-rays as waves and photons, photoelectric and Compton effects, pair production, de Broglie waves, uncertainty principle, the quantum mechanical wave function. Practical problem solving.

Course Fees

Course fees are displayed for the Program: select program

Study Abroad student tuition fees available here

Only some Postgraduate Coursework programs are available as Commonwealth Supported. Please check your program for specific fee information

  Commonwealth Supported Student Contribution
Tuition Fees
Units EFTSL Pre-2010 2010 Onwards Domestic International
3 0.125 Band 2 $1,131 Band 2 $1,131 select program select program


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
3120 Mon 08/08/2011 Wed 31/08/2011 Fri 16/09/2011 Fri 28/10/2011


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
28406 LE01 250 71 26 Jul - 20 Sep Tuesday 10am - 11am Bragg Labs, G14, Bragg Lecture Theatre
28 Jul - 22 Sep Thursday 10am - 11am Bragg Labs, G14, Bragg Lecture Theatre
29 Jul - 23 Sep Friday 2pm - 3pm Bragg Labs, G14, Bragg Lecture Theatre
11 Oct - 25 Oct Tuesday 10am - 11am Bragg Labs, G14, Bragg Lecture Theatre
13 Oct - 27 Oct Thursday 10am - 11am Bragg Labs, G14, Bragg Lecture Theatre
14 Oct - 28 Oct Friday 2pm - 3pm Bragg Labs, G14, Bragg Lecture Theatre
Related Class: Tutorial
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
25110 TU01 43 6 2 Aug - 20 Sep Tuesday 11am - 12pm Bragg Labs, 203/204, Lab 7 & 8
11 Oct - 25 Oct Tuesday 11am - 12pm Bragg Labs, 203/204, Lab 7 & 8
25111 TU02 44 5 2 Aug - 20 Sep Tuesday 12pm - 1pm Bragg Labs, 203/204, Lab 7 & 8
11 Oct - 25 Oct Tuesday 12pm - 1pm Bragg Labs, 203/204, Lab 7 & 8
25112 TU03 40 7 2 Aug - 20 Sep Tuesday 2pm - 3pm Bragg Labs, 203/204, Lab 7 & 8
11 Oct - 25 Oct Tuesday 2pm - 3pm Bragg Labs, 203/204, Lab 7 & 8
25113 TU04 20 9 2 Aug - 20 Sep Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Bragg Labs, 203, Lab 7
11 Oct - 25 Oct Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Bragg Labs, 203, Lab 7
25114 TU05 42 4 3 Aug - 21 Sep Wednesday 11am - 12pm Bragg Labs, 203/204, Lab 7 & 8
12 Oct - 26 Oct Wednesday 11am - 12pm Bragg Labs, 203/204, Lab 7 & 8
25115 TU06 21 FULL 3 Aug - 21 Sep Wednesday 12pm - 1pm Bragg Labs, 203/204, Lab 7 & 8
12 Oct - 26 Oct Wednesday 12pm - 1pm Bragg Labs, 203/204, Lab 7 & 8
Related Class: Practical
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
28407 PR02 30 6 1 Aug - 1 Aug Monday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
15 Aug - 15 Aug Monday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
29 Aug - 29 Aug Monday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
12 Sep - 12 Sep Monday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
10 Oct - 10 Oct Monday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
24 Oct - 24 Oct Monday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
28408 PR03 30 1 8 Aug - 8 Aug Monday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
22 Aug - 22 Aug Monday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
5 Sep - 5 Sep Monday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
19 Sep - 19 Sep Monday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
17 Oct - 17 Oct Monday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
28410 PR05 30 FULL 9 Aug - 9 Aug Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
23 Aug - 23 Aug Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
6 Sep - 6 Sep Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
20 Sep - 20 Sep Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
18 Oct - 18 Oct Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
28411 PR06 30 10 3 Aug - 3 Aug Wednesday 10am - 1pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
17 Aug - 17 Aug Wednesday 10am - 1pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
31 Aug - 31 Aug Wednesday 10am - 1pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
14 Sep - 14 Sep Wednesday 10am - 1pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
12 Oct - 12 Oct Wednesday 10am - 1pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
26 Oct - 26 Oct Wednesday 10am - 1pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
28412 PR07 24 1 10 Aug - 10 Aug Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
24 Aug - 24 Aug Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
7 Sep - 7 Sep Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
21 Sep - 21 Sep Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
19 Oct - 19 Oct Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
28413 PR08 24 1 3 Aug - 3 Aug Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
17 Aug - 17 Aug Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
31 Aug - 31 Aug Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
14 Sep - 14 Sep Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
12 Oct - 12 Oct Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
26 Oct - 26 Oct Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
28414 PR09 30 FULL 11 Aug - 11 Aug Thursday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
25 Aug - 25 Aug Thursday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
8 Sep - 8 Sep Thursday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
22 Sep - 22 Sep Thursday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6
20 Oct - 20 Oct Thursday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, 104/105, Lab 5 & 6