University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

PHYSICS 1201 - Physics for the Life and Earth Sciences IB

Career: Undergraduate
Units: 3
Term: 3120
Campus: North Terrace
Contact: Up to 7 hours per week
Available for Non-Award Study: Yes
Pre-Requisite: Either SACE Stage 2 Physics Subject Achievement grade of at least B- (under review) or equivalent and Mathematical Studies or a grade of Credit or better in PHYSICS 1008 - other students may apply to Head of Physics for exemption
Assumed Knowledge: PHYSICS 1101 or PHYSICS 1008
Incompatible: PHYSICS 1200
Assessment: Written exam, tutorial work, practical work
Syllabus:

This course provides an introduction to sensing and imaging as applied to biological systems and earth science. It is intended to provide a background in physics at university level for students who wish to major in biological sciences (Physics I and Mathematics I are recommended for students interested in Biophysics or Geophysics). The emphasis is on physics concepts and their application to relevant problems rather than on the more theoretical or mathematical development of concepts. It includes a study of oscillations, waves and sound, geometric and physics optics, electricity and magnetism, X-rays and radioactivity. Practical problem solving.

Course Fees

Course fees are displayed for the Program: select program

Study Abroad student tuition fees available here

Only some Postgraduate Coursework programs are available as Commonwealth Supported. Please check your program for specific fee information

  Commonwealth Supported Student Contribution
Tuition Fees
Units EFTSL Pre-2010 2010 Onwards Domestic International
3 0.125 Band 2 $1,076 Band 2 $1,076 select program select program


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
3120 Mon 08/08/2011 Wed 31/08/2011 Fri 16/09/2011 Fri 28/10/2011


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
28401 LE01 120 65 26 Jul - 20 Sep Tuesday 11am - 12pm Bragg Labs, G14, Bragg Lecture Theatre
27 Jul - 21 Sep Wednesday 9am - 10am Bragg Labs, G14, Bragg Lecture Theatre
29 Jul - 23 Sep Friday 12pm - 1pm Bragg Labs, G14, Bragg Lecture Theatre
11 Oct - 25 Oct Tuesday 11am - 12pm Bragg Labs, G14, Bragg Lecture Theatre
12 Oct - 26 Oct Wednesday 9am - 10am Bragg Labs, G14, Bragg Lecture Theatre
14 Oct - 28 Oct Friday 12pm - 1pm Bragg Labs, G14, Bragg Lecture Theatre
Related Class: Tutorial
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
25107 TU01 40 19 2 Aug - 20 Sep Tuesday 1pm - 2pm Bragg Labs, 203/204, Lab 7 & 8
11 Oct - 25 Oct Tuesday 1pm - 2pm Bragg Labs, 203/204, Lab 7 & 8
25108 TU02 21 1 4 Aug - 22 Sep Thursday 10am - 11am Bragg Labs, 203/204, Lab 7 & 8
13 Oct - 27 Oct Thursday 10am - 11am Bragg Labs, 203/204, Lab 7 & 8
25109 TU03 20 6 4 Aug - 22 Sep Thursday 11am - 12pm Bragg Labs, 203/204, Lab 7 & 8
13 Oct - 27 Oct Thursday 11am - 12pm Bragg Labs, 203/204, Lab 7 & 8
Related Class: Practical
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
28402 PR01 26 8 9 Aug - 9 Aug Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, G06/G07, Lab 3 & 4
23 Aug - 23 Aug Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, G06/G07, Lab 3 & 4
6 Sep - 6 Sep Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, G06/G07, Lab 3 & 4
20 Sep - 20 Sep Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, G06/G07, Lab 3 & 4
18 Oct - 18 Oct Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, G06/G07, Lab 3 & 4
28403 PR02 30 13 3 Aug - 3 Aug Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, G06/G07, Lab 3 & 4
17 Aug - 17 Aug Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, G06/G07, Lab 3 & 4
31 Aug - 31 Aug Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, G06/G07, Lab 3 & 4
14 Sep - 14 Sep Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, G06/G07, Lab 3 & 4
12 Oct - 12 Oct Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, G06/G07, Lab 3 & 4
26 Oct - 26 Oct Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, G06/G07, Lab 3 & 4
28404 PR03 30 10 11 Aug - 11 Aug Thursday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, G06/G07, Lab 3 & 4
25 Aug - 25 Aug Thursday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, G06/G07, Lab 3 & 4
8 Sep - 8 Sep Thursday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, G06/G07, Lab 3 & 4
22 Sep - 22 Sep Thursday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, G06/G07, Lab 3 & 4
20 Oct - 20 Oct Thursday 2pm - 5pm Bragg Labs, G06/G07, Lab 3 & 4