University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

CHEM 1100 - Chemistry IA

Career: Undergraduate
Units: 3
Term: 3110
Campus: North Terrace
Contact: Up to 7 hours per week
Available for Non-Award Study: Yes
Pre-Requisite: SACE Stage 2 Chemistry with Subject Achievement grade of at least C+ or equivalent - in exceptional circumstances, consult Head of Chemistry
Incompatible: CHEM 1101, CHEM 1510 & CHEM 1511
Assessment: Exam, practical work, computer assessed tutorials
Syllabus:

Atoms to Molecules - structure of the atom and molecular bonding. Periodicity and the Main Group - chemistry of the main group metals and non-metals. Energy and Equilibrium - the relevance of intermolecular forces, chemical equilibrium, energy considerations and chemical reactivity applied to aspects of chemistry and biochemistry. Transition Metal Chemistry - an introduction to bonding in transition (d-block) elements, coordination complexes, bioinorganic systems.

Course Fees

Course fees are displayed for the Program: select program

Study Abroad student tuition fees available here

Only some Postgraduate Coursework programs are available as Commonwealth Supported. Please check your program for specific fee information

  Commonwealth Supported Student Contribution
Tuition Fees
Units EFTSL Pre-2010 2010 Onwards Domestic International
3 0.125 Band 2 $1,131 Band 2 $1,131 select program select program


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
3110 Mon 14/03/2011 Thu 31/03/2011 Fri 06/05/2011 Fri 10/06/2011


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
19547 LE01 520 74 28 Feb - 11 Apr Monday 10am - 11am Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
1 Mar - 12 Apr Tuesday 11am - 12pm Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
4 Mar - 15 Apr Friday 12pm - 1pm Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
2 May - 13 Jun Monday 10am - 11am Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
3 May - 14 Jun Tuesday 11am - 12pm Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
6 May - 17 Jun Friday 12pm - 1pm Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
Related Class: Tutorial
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
15080 TU04 100 18 9 Mar - 13 Apr Wednesday 1pm - 2pm Johnson Labs, G29, Rennie Lecture Theatre
4 May - 8 Jun Wednesday 1pm - 2pm Johnson Labs, G29, Rennie Lecture Theatre
15081 TU05 100 26 10 Mar - 14 Apr Thursday 9am - 10am Johnson Labs, G29, Rennie Lecture Theatre
5 May - 9 Jun Thursday 9am - 10am Johnson Labs, G29, Rennie Lecture Theatre
15082 TU07 110 18 11 Mar - 15 Apr Friday 1pm - 2pm Johnson Labs, G29, Rennie Lecture Theatre
6 May - 10 Jun Friday 1pm - 2pm Johnson Labs, G29, Rennie Lecture Theatre
19555 TU01 32 FULL 8 Mar - 12 Apr Tuesday 12pm - 1pm Badger Labs, LG17, Badger Seminar Room
3 May - 7 Jun Tuesday 12pm - 1pm Badger Labs, LG17, Badger Seminar Room
19556 TU02 121 2 8 Mar - 12 Apr Tuesday 1pm - 2pm Badger Labs, G31, Macbeth Lecture Theatre
3 May - 7 Jun Tuesday 1pm - 2pm Badger Labs, G31, Macbeth Lecture Theatre
19558 TU06 100 53 10 Mar - 14 Apr Thursday 1pm - 2pm Badger Labs, G31, Macbeth Lecture Theatre
5 May - 9 Jun Thursday 1pm - 2pm Badger Labs, G31, Macbeth Lecture Theatre
Related Class: Practical
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
18127 PR09 72 2 11 Mar - 11 Mar Friday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
25 Mar - 25 Mar Friday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
8 Apr - 8 Apr Friday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
6 May - 6 May Friday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
20 May - 20 May Friday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
3 Jun - 3 Jun Friday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
19548 PR01 56 5 7 Mar - 7 Mar Monday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
21 Mar - 21 Mar Monday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
4 Apr - 4 Apr Monday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
2 May - 2 May Monday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
16 May - 16 May Monday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
30 May - 30 May Monday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
Note: If the prac class that you need to enrol into to maintain a clash free timetable is showing as full, please email wayne.england@adelaide.edu.au
19549 PR03 60 1 8 Mar - 8 Mar Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
22 Mar - 22 Mar Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
5 Apr - 5 Apr Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
3 May - 3 May Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
17 May - 17 May Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
31 May - 31 May Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
19550 PR04 72 9 9 Mar - 9 Mar Wednesday 10am - 1pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
23 Mar - 23 Mar Wednesday 10am - 1pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
6 Apr - 6 Apr Wednesday 10am - 1pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
4 May - 4 May Wednesday 10am - 1pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
18 May - 18 May Wednesday 10am - 1pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
1 Jun - 1 Jun Wednesday 10am - 1pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
19551 PR05 63 3 9 Mar - 9 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
23 Mar - 23 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
6 Apr - 6 Apr Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
4 May - 4 May Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
18 May - 18 May Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
1 Jun - 1 Jun Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
19552 PR06 74 23 10 Mar - 10 Mar Thursday 10am - 1pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
24 Mar - 24 Mar Thursday 10am - 1pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
7 Apr - 7 Apr Thursday 10am - 1pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
5 May - 5 May Thursday 10am - 1pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
19 May - 19 May Thursday 10am - 1pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
2 Jun - 2 Jun Thursday 10am - 1pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
19553 PR07 66 4 10 Mar - 10 Mar Thursday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
24 Mar - 24 Mar Thursday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
7 Apr - 7 Apr Thursday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
5 May - 5 May Thursday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
19 May - 19 May Thursday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
2 Jun - 2 Jun Thursday 2pm - 5pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
19554 PR08 50 20 11 Mar - 11 Mar Friday 9am - 12pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
25 Mar - 25 Mar Friday 9am - 12pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
8 Apr - 8 Apr Friday 9am - 12pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
6 May - 6 May Friday 9am - 12pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
20 May - 20 May Friday 9am - 12pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab
3 Jun - 3 Jun Friday 9am - 12pm Johnson Labs, 106, First Year Lab