University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

BIOLOGY 1510 - Biology I:Molecules, Genes & Cells (Vet Bio)

Career: Undergraduate
Units: 3
Term: 3110
Campus: North Terrace
Contact: Up to 5.5 hours per week
Restriction: Available to B Sc (Veterinary Bioscience) students only
Available for Non-Award Study: No
Assessment: End of semester exams, MCQ and theory tests, practical assessment and tutorial assessment
Syllabus:

The study of biology covers an incredibly wide range of themes; from simple molecules, cells, organelles and tissues to whole organisms and their interaction with the environment and their ability to evolve. The aim of this course is to introduce many of these concepts, thereby providing the foundation for further studies in semester 2 courses and more specialist level II/III courses. Topics to be covered include the chemicals of life, macromolecules, the role of nucleic acids in genetic information transfer, protein synthesis, lipid membranes and the structure of cells, storage and utilisation of energy, meiosis and mitosis.

Course Fees

Course fees are displayed for the Program: select program

Study Abroad student tuition fees available here

Only some Postgraduate Coursework programs are available as Commonwealth Supported. Please check your program for specific fee information

  Commonwealth Supported Student Contribution
Tuition Fees
Units EFTSL Pre-2010 2010 Onwards Domestic International
3 0.125 Band 2 $1,131 Band 2 $1,131 select program select program


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
3110 Mon 14/03/2011 Thu 31/03/2011 Fri 06/05/2011 Fri 10/06/2011


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
16375 LE01 65 20 28 Feb - 11 Apr Monday 11am - 12pm Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
2 Mar - 13 Apr Wednesday 11am - 12pm Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
4 Mar - 15 Apr Friday 11am - 12pm Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
2 May - 6 Jun Monday 11am - 12pm Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
4 May - 8 Jun Wednesday 11am - 12pm Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
6 May - 10 Jun Friday 11am - 12pm Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
Related Class: Practical
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
15799 PR03 14 2 15 Mar - 15 Mar Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 206, Lab
29 Mar - 29 Mar Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 206, Lab
12 Apr - 12 Apr Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 206, Lab
10 May - 10 May Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 206, Lab
24 May - 24 May Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 206, Lab
15801 PR04 6 FULL 9 Mar - 9 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 206, Lab
23 Mar - 23 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 206, Lab
6 Apr - 6 Apr Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 206, Lab
4 May - 4 May Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 206, Lab
18 May - 18 May Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 206, Lab
16376 PR01 14 1 7 Mar - 7 Mar Monday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 206, Lab
21 Mar - 21 Mar Monday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 206, Lab
4 Apr - 4 Apr Monday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 206, Lab
2 May - 2 May Monday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 206, Lab
16 May - 16 May Monday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 206, Lab
16377 PR02 6 3 8 Mar - 8 Mar Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 210, Lab
22 Mar - 22 Mar Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 210, Lab
5 Apr - 5 Apr Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 210, Lab
3 May - 3 May Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 210, Lab
17 May - 17 May Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 210, Lab
17519 PR05 11 FULL 16 Mar - 16 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 206, Lab
30 Mar - 30 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 206, Lab
13 Apr - 13 Apr Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 206, Lab
11 May - 11 May Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 206, Lab
25 May - 25 May Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 206, Lab
Related Class: Tutorial
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
15800 TU05 15 3 2 Mar - 13 Apr Wednesday 12pm - 1pm Medical School Sth, S415, Practical Room
4 May - 8 Jun Wednesday 12pm - 1pm Medical School Sth, S415, Practical Room
16378 TU01 2 FULL 1 Mar - 12 Apr Tuesday 9am - 10am Medical School Sth, SG11, Tutorial Room
3 May - 7 Jun Tuesday 9am - 10am Medical School Sth, SG11, Tutorial Room
16379 TU02 20 FULL 1 Mar - 12 Apr Tuesday 1pm - 2pm Mawson Labs, 126, Howchin Room
3 May - 7 Jun Tuesday 1pm - 2pm Mawson Labs, 126, Howchin Room
16381 TU04 14 3 4 Mar - 15 Apr Friday 9am - 10am Medical School Sth, S421, Practical Room
6 May - 10 Jun Friday 9am - 10am Medical School Sth, S421, Practical Room