University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

BIOLOGY 1520 - Biology I: Organisms (Veterinary Bioscience)

Career: Undergraduate
Units: 3
Term: 3120
Campus: North Terrace
Contact: Up to 7 hours per week
Restriction: Available to B Sc (Veterinary Bioscience) students only
Available for Non-Award Study: No
Assumed Knowledge: BIOLOGY 1510 or BIOLOGY 1401.
Assessment: Exam, assignment, practical reports
Syllabus:

This course focuses on the biology and diversity of multicellular organisms, with evolution as the central theme. It addresses key questions in biology: What are plants and animals? How do they evolve? How do they function? How do they interact with other organisms and the environment? These questions are answered by analysing the scientific evidence that supports current theory.

Course Fees

Course fees are displayed for the Program: select program

Study Abroad student tuition fees available here

Only some Postgraduate Coursework programs are available as Commonwealth Supported. Please check your program for specific fee information

  Commonwealth Supported Student Contribution
Tuition Fees
Units EFTSL Pre-2010 2010 Onwards Domestic International
3 0.125 Band 2 $1,131 Band 2 $1,131 select program select program


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
3120 Mon 08/08/2011 Wed 31/08/2011 Fri 16/09/2011 Fri 28/10/2011


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
29693 LE01 55 9 25 Jul - 19 Sep Monday 11am - 12pm Johnson Labs, G29, Rennie Lecture Theatre
27 Jul - 21 Sep Wednesday 11am - 12pm Johnson Labs, G29, Rennie Lecture Theatre
29 Jul - 23 Sep Friday 11am - 12pm Johnson Labs, G29, Rennie Lecture Theatre
10 Oct - 24 Oct Monday 11am - 12pm Johnson Labs, G29, Rennie Lecture Theatre
12 Oct - 26 Oct Wednesday 11am - 12pm Johnson Labs, G29, Rennie Lecture Theatre
14 Oct - 28 Oct Friday 11am - 12pm Johnson Labs, G29, Rennie Lecture Theatre
Related Class: Practical
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
25009 PR01 25 1 1 Aug - 1 Aug Monday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 206, Lab
15 Aug - 15 Aug Monday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 206, Lab
29 Aug - 29 Aug Monday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 206, Lab
12 Sep - 12 Sep Monday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 206, Lab
10 Oct - 10 Oct Monday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 206, Lab
24 Oct - 24 Oct Monday 2pm - 5pm Jordan Labs, 206, Lab
25010 PR02 22 FULL 2 Aug - 2 Aug Tuesday 10am - 1pm Jordan Labs, 210, Lab
16 Aug - 16 Aug Tuesday 10am - 1pm Jordan Labs, 210, Lab
30 Aug - 30 Aug Tuesday 10am - 1pm Jordan Labs, 210, Lab
13 Sep - 13 Sep Tuesday 10am - 1pm Jordan Labs, 210, Lab
11 Oct - 11 Oct Tuesday 10am - 1pm Jordan Labs, 210, Lab
25 Oct - 25 Oct Tuesday 10am - 1pm Jordan Labs, 210, Lab
Related Class: Tutorial
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
29691 TU03 20 FULL 25 Jul - 19 Sep Monday 9am - 10am Medical School Sth, SG04, Tutorial Room
10 Oct - 24 Oct Monday 9am - 10am Medical School Sth, SG04, Tutorial Room
29692 TU04 21 1 25 Jul - 19 Sep Monday 9am - 10am Medical School Sth, S421, Practical Room
10 Oct - 24 Oct Monday 9am - 10am Medical School Sth, S421, Practical Room