University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

MATHS 7101 - Multivariable & Complex Calculus

Career: Postgraduate Coursework
Units: 3
Term: Semester 1
Campus: North Terrace
Contact: Up to 3.5 hours per week
Available for Non-Award Study: Yes
Pre-Requisite: MATHS 1012
Incompatible: PURE MTH 2005, MATHS 2202
Assessment: ongoing assessment 30%, exam 70%
Syllabus:

The mathematics required to describe most "real life" systems involves functions of more than one variable, so the differential and integral calculus developed in a first course in Calculus must be extended to functions of more variables. In this course, the key results of one-variable calculus are extended to higher dimensions: differentiation, integration, and the link between them provided by the Fundamental Theorem of Calculus are all generalised. The machinery developed can be applied to another generalisation of one-variable Calculus, namely to complex calculus, and the course also provides an introduction to this subject. The material covered in this course forms the basis for mathematical analysis and application across an extremely broad range of areas, essential for anyone studying the hard sciences, engineering, or mathematical economics/finance. Topics covered are: introduction to multivariable calculus; differentiation of scalar- and vector-valued functions; higher-order derivatives, extrema, Lagrange multipliers and the implicit function theorem; integration over regions, volumes, paths and surfaces; Green's, Stokes' and Gauss's theorems; differential forms; curvilinear coordinates; an introduction to complex numbers and functions; complex differentiation; complex integration and Cauchy's theorems; and conformal mappings.

Course Fees

Course fees are displayed for the Program: select program

Study Abroad student tuition fees available here

Only some Postgraduate Coursework programs are available as Commonwealth Supported. Please check your program for specific fee information

  Commonwealth Supported Student Contribution
Tuition Fees
Units EFTSL Pre-2010 2010 Onwards Domestic International
3 0.125 Band 2 $1,131 Band 2 $1,131 select program select program


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
Semester 1 Mon 13/03/2017 Fri 31/03/2017 Fri 05/05/2017 Fri 09/06/2017


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
12696 LE01 2 FULL 1 Mar - 5 Apr Wednesday 2pm - 3pm Mawson, G19, Mawson Lecture Theatre
2 Mar - 6 Apr Thursday 3pm - 4pm Napier, G04, Lecture Theatre
3 Mar - 7 Apr Friday 12pm - 1pm Napier, G04, Lecture Theatre
26 Apr - 7 Jun Wednesday 2pm - 3pm Mawson, G19, Mawson Lecture Theatre
27 Apr - 8 Jun Thursday 3pm - 4pm Napier, G04, Lecture Theatre
28 Apr - 9 Jun Friday 12pm - 1pm Napier, G04, Lecture Theatre
Related Class: Tutorial
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
12697 TU01 1 FULL 1 Mar - 1 Mar Wednesday 3pm - 4pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
15 Mar - 15 Mar Wednesday 3pm - 4pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
29 Mar - 29 Mar Wednesday 3pm - 4pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
26 Apr - 26 Apr Wednesday 3pm - 4pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
10 May - 10 May Wednesday 3pm - 4pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
24 May - 24 May Wednesday 3pm - 4pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
7 Jun - 7 Jun Wednesday 3pm - 4pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
13968 TU02 1 FULL 2 Mar - 2 Mar Thursday 11am - 12pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
16 Mar - 16 Mar Thursday 11am - 12pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
30 Mar - 30 Mar Thursday 11am - 12pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
27 Apr - 27 Apr Thursday 11am - 12pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
11 May - 11 May Thursday 11am - 12pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
25 May - 25 May Thursday 11am - 12pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room
8 Jun - 8 Jun Thursday 11am - 12pm Engineering & Mathematics, EM218, Teaching Room