University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

PHYSICS 1100 - Physics IA

Career: Undergraduate
Units: 3
Term: Semester 1
Campus: North Terrace
Contact: Up to 7 hours per week
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: Yes
Available for Non-Award Study: Yes
Pre-Requisite: SACE Stage 2 Physics, Math Methods (formerly Math Studies), Specialist Maths - high achieving students without Specialist Maths may be granted exemption on application to Head of Physics
Co-Requisite: MATHS 1011 - students may be permitted to enrol in Physics IA concurrently with MATHS 1013 on application to Head of Physics
Incompatible: PHYSICS 1101, PHYSICS 1008, PHYSICS 1501, PHYSICS 1508 & PHYSICS 1510
Assessment: Written exam, workshop preparation, practical work & In-Semester tests
Syllabus:

This calculus-based course is the foundation for a major in physics, and also provides a quantitative understanding of physics concepts applicable in biological and geological sciences, and in Engineering. Measurement and uncertainties. Particle mechanics: Newton's law of motion, gravitation, work, energy, conservative forces, momentum, collisions. Thermal physics: heat, temperature, internal energy, kinetic theory of gases, thermodynamic processes. Electricity and magnetism: charge and current, electric field, Ohm's Law, DC circuits, Coulomb and Gauss' laws, electrostatics, capacitance, magnetic field, Ampere and Faraday's laws, inductance, LC circuits. Practical problem solving.

Course Fees

Course fees are displayed for the Program: select program

Study Abroad student tuition fees available here

Only some Postgraduate Coursework programs are available as Commonwealth Supported. Please check your program for specific fee information

  Commonwealth Supported Student Contribution
Tuition Fees
Units EFTSL Pre-2010 2010 Onwards Domestic International
3 0.125 Band 2 $1,169 Band 2 $1,169 select program select program


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
Semester 1 Mon 18/03/2019 Sun 31/03/2019 Fri 10/05/2019 Fri 14/06/2019


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
13815 LE01 180 80 5 Mar - 9 Apr Tuesday 12pm - 1pm Darling West, G14, Darling West Lecture Theatre
7 Mar - 11 Apr Thursday 2pm - 3pm Darling West, G14, Darling West Lecture Theatre
8 Mar - 12 Apr Friday 10am - 11am Darling West, G14, Darling West Lecture Theatre
30 Apr - 11 Jun Tuesday 12pm - 1pm Darling West, G14, Darling West Lecture Theatre
2 May - 13 Jun Thursday 2pm - 3pm Darling West, G14, Darling West Lecture Theatre
3 May - 14 Jun Friday 10am - 11am Darling West, G14, Darling West Lecture Theatre
Related Class: Workshop
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
13465 WR01 22 3 12 Mar - 9 Apr Tuesday 10am - 11am Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
30 Apr - 11 Jun Tuesday 10am - 11am Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
13466 WR02 22 5 12 Mar - 9 Apr Tuesday 10am - 11am Lower Napier, LG23, Teaching Room
30 Apr - 11 Jun Tuesday 10am - 11am Lower Napier, LG23, Teaching Room
13467 WR07 7 FULL 14 Mar - 11 Apr Thursday 12pm - 1pm Lower Napier, LG23, Teaching Room
2 May - 13 Jun Thursday 12pm - 1pm Lower Napier, LG23, Teaching Room
13468 WR06 22 4 14 Mar - 11 Apr Thursday 10am - 11am Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
2 May - 13 Jun Thursday 10am - 11am Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
13470 WR05 22 2 14 Mar - 11 Apr Thursday 10am - 11am Lower Napier, LG23, Teaching Room
2 May - 13 Jun Thursday 10am - 11am Lower Napier, LG23, Teaching Room
14055 WR04 22 4 13 Mar - 10 Apr Wednesday 12pm - 1pm Lower Napier, LG23, Teaching Room
1 May - 12 Jun Wednesday 12pm - 1pm Lower Napier, LG23, Teaching Room
Related Class: Practical
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
13816 PR03 30 5 19 Mar - 19 Mar Tuesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
2 Apr - 2 Apr Tuesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
30 Apr - 30 Apr Tuesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
14 May - 14 May Tuesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
28 May - 28 May Tuesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
13817 PR04 30 4 26 Mar - 26 Mar Tuesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
9 Apr - 9 Apr Tuesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
7 May - 7 May Tuesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
21 May - 21 May Tuesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
4 Jun - 4 Jun Tuesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
13819 PR06 30 5 27 Mar - 27 Mar Wednesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
10 Apr - 10 Apr Wednesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
8 May - 8 May Wednesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
22 May - 22 May Wednesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
5 Jun - 5 Jun Wednesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
13820 PR07 20 8 20 Mar - 20 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
3 Apr - 3 Apr Wednesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
1 May - 1 May Wednesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
15 May - 15 May Wednesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
29 May - 29 May Wednesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
13834 PR10 30 18 27 Mar - 27 Mar Wednesday 6pm - 9pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
10 Apr - 10 Apr Wednesday 6pm - 9pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
8 May - 8 May Wednesday 6pm - 9pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
22 May - 22 May Wednesday 6pm - 9pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
5 Jun - 5 Jun Wednesday 6pm - 9pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory