University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

GENETICS 2520 - Genetics IIB: Function and Diversity of Genomes

Career: Undergraduate
Units: 3
Term: 3920
Campus: North Terrace
Contact: Up to 8 hours per week
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: Yes
Available for Non-Award Study: Yes
Pre-Requisite: BIOLOGY 1101 or BIOLOGY 1401 or BIOLOGY 1001, & BIOLOGY 1201 or BIOLOGY 1202. Students who enrolled in BIOLOGY 1101, 1101ND or 1401 or 1001 only should contact the Course Coordinator to request permission to enrol
Assumed Knowledge: GENETICS 2510
Assessment: Exam, tutorial and practical component assessment
Syllabus:

Genetics IIB aims to build an appreciation of the power of genetic analysis. Building on the foundation concepts developed in Genetics IIA, topics include concepts in human genetics and genetic dissection of developmental processes. Genetics IIB also provides a foundation to modern genetics analysis of evolutionary processes, including the genetics of populations. The practical component for this course draws from the MBS Prac A, Prac B and Prac C series. Refer to Study With Us_Student Support_Enrolment Help information at https://sciences.adelaide.edu.au/study/student-support/enrolment-help for further information.

Course Fees

To display course fees, please select your status and program below:

Student Status

Domestic
International

What type of place are you studying in

Commonwealth supported
Full fee paying

Study Level

Undergraduate
Postgraduate Coursework
Non Award

Program of Study

Study Abroad student tuition fees are available here

Only some Postgraduate Coursework programs are available as Commonwealth Supported. Please check your program for specific fee information

Units
EFTSL
Amount
3
0.125
          
  


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
3920 Mon 12/08/2019 Sat 31/08/2019 Fri 20/09/2019 Fri 01/11/2019


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
24293 LE01 190 109 29 Jul - 16 Sep Monday 12pm - 2pm Mawson, G19, Mawson Lecture Theatre
14 Oct - 28 Oct Monday 12pm - 2pm Mawson, G19, Mawson Lecture Theatre
Note: You need to enrol in a separate practical component for this course. Read the Practical A, B & C document found at http://sciences.adelaide.edu.au/current-students/enrol/continuing/ under 'Level II BIOCHEM, GENETICS and MICRO Courses' to determine which practical classes you need to enrol in. Contact christopher.wong@adelaide.edu.au for more information.
Related Class: Tutorial
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
20730 TU05 25 10 7 Aug - 7 Aug Wednesday 11am - 1pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
21 Aug - 21 Aug Wednesday 11am - 1pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
4 Sep - 4 Sep Wednesday 11am - 1pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
18 Sep - 18 Sep Wednesday 11am - 1pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
16 Oct - 16 Oct Wednesday 11am - 1pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
30 Oct - 30 Oct Wednesday 11am - 1pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
21588 TU03 25 10 9 Aug - 9 Aug Friday 11am - 1pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
23 Aug - 23 Aug Friday 11am - 1pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
6 Sep - 6 Sep Friday 11am - 1pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
20 Sep - 20 Sep Friday 11am - 1pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
18 Oct - 18 Oct Friday 11am - 1pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
1 Nov - 1 Nov Friday 11am - 1pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
24837 TU06 25 12 8 Aug - 8 Aug Thursday 12pm - 2pm Schulz, 308, Teaching Room
22 Aug - 22 Aug Thursday 12pm - 2pm Schulz, 308, Teaching Room
5 Sep - 5 Sep Thursday 12pm - 2pm Schulz, 308, Teaching Room
19 Sep - 19 Sep Thursday 12pm - 2pm Schulz, 308, Teaching Room
17 Oct - 17 Oct Thursday 12pm - 2pm Schulz, 308, Teaching Room
31 Oct - 31 Oct Thursday 12pm - 2pm Schulz, 308, Teaching Room
24884 TU07 25 3 6 Aug - 6 Aug Tuesday 11am - 1pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
20 Aug - 20 Aug Tuesday 11am - 1pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
3 Sep - 3 Sep Tuesday 11am - 1pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
17 Sep - 17 Sep Tuesday 11am - 1pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
15 Oct - 15 Oct Tuesday 11am - 1pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
29 Oct - 29 Oct Tuesday 11am - 1pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
24885 TU04 20 4 5 Aug - 5 Aug Monday 3pm - 5pm Hartley, 122, Teaching Room
19 Aug - 19 Aug Monday 3pm - 5pm Hartley, 122, Teaching Room
2 Sep - 2 Sep Monday 3pm - 5pm Hartley, 122, Teaching Room
16 Sep - 16 Sep Monday 3pm - 5pm Hartley, 122, Teaching Room
14 Oct - 14 Oct Monday 3pm - 5pm Hartley, 122, Teaching Room
28 Oct - 28 Oct Monday 3pm - 5pm Hartley, 122, Teaching Room