University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

PUB HLTH 1001UAC - Health and Illness in Populations

Career: Non-Award
Units: 3
Term: Semester 1
Campus: University of Adelaide College
Restriction: Available only to University of Adelaide College students
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange:
Available for Non-Award Study: No
Incompatible: Not available to students who completed PUB HLTH 1001 Public Health 1A. This course has had a title change from Public Health 1A to Health and Illness in Populations and therefore the content of the course is the same.
Assessment: Exam, assignments, tutorial, practical participation, maths diagnostic test & online quizzes
Syllabus:

Health and Illness in Populations aims to introduce students interested in health sciences careers such as public health practice, health-related research, or clinical practice, to a population view of health. It draws on a range of disciplines that contribute to a focus on the health of populations, including epidemiology, health promotion and disease prevention, history, politics, and ethics. The course invites students to develop a critical view about what constitutes public health issues, how they are measured, and potential responses to improve population health.

Course Fees

Tuition fees for students undertaking this course are charged by University of Adelaide College.


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
Semester 1 Mon 16/03/2020 Thu 26/03/2020 Fri 12/06/2020 Not Available


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
13723 LE01 15 11 3 Mar - 7 Apr Tuesday 9am - 10am Helen Mayo Nth, 103N, Florey Lecture Theatre
4 Mar - 8 Apr Wednesday 1pm - 2pm Helen Mayo Nth, 103N, Florey Lecture Theatre
28 Apr - 2 Jun Tuesday 9am - 10am Helen Mayo Nth, 103N, Florey Lecture Theatre
29 Apr - 3 Jun Wednesday 1pm - 2pm Helen Mayo Nth, 103N, Florey Lecture Theatre
Related Class: Practical
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
13586 PR02 7 6 10 Mar - 10 Mar Tuesday 2pm - 4pm Hughes, 323, Teaching Room
24 Mar - 24 Mar Tuesday 2pm - 4pm Hughes, 323, Teaching Room
5 May - 5 May Tuesday 2pm - 4pm Hughes, 323, Teaching Room
19 May - 19 May Tuesday 2pm - 4pm Hughes, 323, Teaching Room
2 Jun - 2 Jun Tuesday 2pm - 4pm Hughes, 323, Teaching Room
14780 PR01 7 4 3 Mar - 3 Mar Tuesday 2pm - 4pm Hughes, 323, Teaching Room
17 Mar - 17 Mar Tuesday 2pm - 4pm Hughes, 323, Teaching Room
28 Apr - 28 Apr Tuesday 2pm - 4pm Hughes, 323, Teaching Room
12 May - 12 May Tuesday 2pm - 4pm Hughes, 323, Teaching Room
26 May - 26 May Tuesday 2pm - 4pm Hughes, 323, Teaching Room