University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

COMP SCI 2005 - Systems Programming

Career: Undergraduate
Units: 3
Term: Semester 1
Campus: North Terrace
Contact: Up to 2.5 hours per week
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: Yes
Available for Non-Award Study: Yes
Pre-Requisite: One of COMP SCI 1007, COMP SCI 1009, COMP SCI 1102, COMP SCI 1202, COMP SCI 2202 or COMP SCI 2202B
Assessment: Written exam and/or assignments
Syllabus:

Introduction to C for C++ programmers. UNIX tools; design philosophy, command line options, combining programs using pipes and I/O redirection. File systems and memory. Profiling tools, binary tools, debugging tools. Basic shell scripting. Build tools. Signal and handling, synchronous and asynchronous I/O. Introduction to threads and concurrency. Timers and their uses.

Course Fees

To display course fees, please select your status and program below:

Student Status

Domestic
International

What type of place are you studying in

Commonwealth supported
Full fee paying

Study Level

Undergraduate
Postgraduate Coursework
Non Award

Program of Study

Study Abroad student tuition fees are available here

Only some Postgraduate Coursework programs are available as Commonwealth Supported. Please check your program for specific fee information

Units
EFTSL
Amount
3
0.125
          
  


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
Semester 1 Mon 16/03/2020 Thu 26/03/2020 Fri 08/05/2020 Fri 12/06/2020


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
10900 LE01 200 66 4 Mar - 8 Apr Wednesday 9am - 10am Mawson, G19, Mawson Lecture Theatre
6 Mar - 10 Apr Friday 2pm - 3pm Johnson, G29, Rennie Lecture Theatre
29 Apr - 10 Jun Wednesday 9am - 10am Mawson, G19, Mawson Lecture Theatre
1 May - 12 Jun Friday 2pm - 3pm Johnson, G29, Rennie Lecture Theatre
Related Class: Workshop
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
14981 WR07 25 2 6 Mar - 6 Mar Friday 11am - 12pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
20 Mar - 20 Mar Friday 11am - 12pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
3 Apr - 3 Apr Friday 11am - 12pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
1 May - 1 May Friday 11am - 12pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
15 May - 15 May Friday 11am - 12pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
29 May - 29 May Friday 11am - 12pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
14982 WR06 25 7 5 Mar - 5 Mar Thursday 10am - 11am Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
19 Mar - 19 Mar Thursday 10am - 11am Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
2 Apr - 2 Apr Thursday 10am - 11am Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
30 Apr - 30 Apr Thursday 10am - 11am Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
14 May - 14 May Thursday 10am - 11am Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
28 May - 28 May Thursday 10am - 11am Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
14983 WR05 25 3 6 Mar - 6 Mar Friday 12pm - 1pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
20 Mar - 20 Mar Friday 12pm - 1pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
3 Apr - 3 Apr Friday 12pm - 1pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
1 May - 1 May Friday 12pm - 1pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
15 May - 15 May Friday 12pm - 1pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
29 May - 29 May Friday 12pm - 1pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
14984 WR04 25 3 4 Mar - 4 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 3pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
18 Mar - 18 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 3pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
1 Apr - 1 Apr Wednesday 2pm - 3pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
29 Apr - 29 Apr Wednesday 2pm - 3pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
13 May - 13 May Wednesday 2pm - 3pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
27 May - 27 May Wednesday 2pm - 3pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
14985 WR03 25 14 3 Mar - 3 Mar Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Ingkarni Wardli, B23, CAT Suite
17 Mar - 17 Mar Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Ingkarni Wardli, B23, CAT Suite
31 Mar - 31 Mar Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Ingkarni Wardli, B23, CAT Suite
28 Apr - 28 Apr Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Ingkarni Wardli, B23, CAT Suite
12 May - 12 May Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Ingkarni Wardli, B23, CAT Suite
26 May - 26 May Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Ingkarni Wardli, B23, CAT Suite
14986 WR02 20 11 3 Mar - 3 Mar Tuesday 4pm - 5pm Ingkarni Wardli, B23, CAT Suite
17 Mar - 17 Mar Tuesday 4pm - 5pm Ingkarni Wardli, B23, CAT Suite
31 Mar - 31 Mar Tuesday 4pm - 5pm Ingkarni Wardli, B23, CAT Suite
28 Apr - 28 Apr Tuesday 4pm - 5pm Ingkarni Wardli, B23, CAT Suite
12 May - 12 May Tuesday 4pm - 5pm Ingkarni Wardli, B23, CAT Suite
26 May - 26 May Tuesday 4pm - 5pm Ingkarni Wardli, B23, CAT Suite
14987 WR01 20 FULL 4 Mar - 4 Mar Wednesday 1pm - 2pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
18 Mar - 18 Mar Wednesday 1pm - 2pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
1 Apr - 1 Apr Wednesday 1pm - 2pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
29 Apr - 29 Apr Wednesday 1pm - 2pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
13 May - 13 May Wednesday 1pm - 2pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
27 May - 27 May Wednesday 1pm - 2pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
14990 WR08 25 16 5 Mar - 5 Mar Thursday 11am - 12pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
19 Mar - 19 Mar Thursday 11am - 12pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
2 Apr - 2 Apr Thursday 11am - 12pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
30 Apr - 30 Apr Thursday 11am - 12pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
14 May - 14 May Thursday 11am - 12pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite
28 May - 28 May Thursday 11am - 12pm Ingkarni Wardli, 236, CAT Suite