University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

MATHS 2104 - Numerical Methods II

Career: Undergraduate
Units: 3
Term: Semester 2
Campus: North Terrace
Contact: Up to 3.5 hours per week
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: Yes
Available for Non-Award Study: Yes
Pre-Requisite: MATHS 1012 and (COMP SCI 1012 or COMP SCI 1101 or COMP SCI 1102 or COMP SCI 1201 or ENG 1002 or ENG 1003 or MECH ENG 1100 or MECH ENG 1102 or MECH ENG 1103 or MECH ENG 1104 or MECH ENG 1105 or C&ENVENG 1012).
Assumed Knowledge: MATHS 2102 or MATHS 2201 or MATHS 2106
Incompatible: MATHS 2107
Assessment: Ongoing assessment, examination
Syllabus:

To explore complex systems, physicists, engineers, financiers and mathematicians require computational methods since mathematical models are only rarely solvable algebraically. Numerical methods, based upon sound computational mathematics, are the basic algorithms underpinning computer predictions in modern systems science. Such methods include techniques for simple optimisation, interpolation from the known to the unknown, linear algebra underlying systems of equations, ordinary differential equations to simulate systems, and stochastic simulation under random influences. Topics covered are: the mathematical and computational foundations of the numerical approximation and solution of scientific problems; simple optimisation; vectorisation; clustering; polynomial and spline interpolation; pattern recognition; integration and differentiation; solution of large scale systems of linear and nonlinear equations; modelling and solution with sparse equations; explicit schemes to solve ordinary differential equations; random numbers; stochastic system simulation.

Course Fees

To display course fees, please select your status and program below:

Student Status

Domestic
International

What type of place are you studying in

Commonwealth supported
Full fee paying

Study Level

Undergraduate
Postgraduate Coursework
Non Award

Program of Study

Study Abroad student tuition fees are available here

Only some Postgraduate Coursework programs are available as Commonwealth Supported. Please check your program for specific fee information

Units
EFTSL
Amount
3
0.125
          
  


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
Semester 2 Mon 10/08/2020 Wed 19/08/2020 Fri 30/10/2020 Not Available


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
21181 LE01 180 27 27 Jul - 14 Sep Monday 4pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
31 Jul - 18 Sep Friday 11am - 12pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
5 Oct - 26 Oct Monday 4pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
9 Oct - 30 Oct Friday 11am - 12pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
Related Class: Computer Exercise
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
21182 CO01 39 9 7 Aug - 7 Aug Friday 12pm - 2pm Ingkarni Wardli, B15, CAT Suite
21 Aug - 21 Aug Friday 12pm - 2pm Ingkarni Wardli, B15, CAT Suite
4 Sep - 4 Sep Friday 12pm - 2pm Ingkarni Wardli, B15, CAT Suite
18 Sep - 18 Sep Friday 12pm - 2pm Ingkarni Wardli, B15, CAT Suite
16 Oct - 16 Oct Friday 12pm - 2pm Ingkarni Wardli, B15, CAT Suite
30 Oct - 30 Oct Friday 12pm - 2pm Ingkarni Wardli, B15, CAT Suite
21185 CO04 40 2 4 Aug - 4 Aug Tuesday 4pm - 6pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
18 Aug - 18 Aug Tuesday 4pm - 6pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
1 Sep - 1 Sep Tuesday 4pm - 6pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
15 Sep - 15 Sep Tuesday 4pm - 6pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
13 Oct - 13 Oct Tuesday 4pm - 6pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
27 Oct - 27 Oct Tuesday 4pm - 6pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
21287 CO06 55 7 6 Aug - 6 Aug Thursday 11am - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG13, Computer Suite
20 Aug - 20 Aug Thursday 11am - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG13, Computer Suite
3 Sep - 3 Sep Thursday 11am - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG13, Computer Suite
17 Sep - 17 Sep Thursday 11am - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG13, Computer Suite
15 Oct - 15 Oct Thursday 11am - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG13, Computer Suite
29 Oct - 29 Oct Thursday 11am - 1pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG13, Computer Suite
21288 CO07 55 18 4 Aug - 4 Aug Tuesday 12pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG13, Computer Suite
18 Aug - 18 Aug Tuesday 12pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG13, Computer Suite
1 Sep - 1 Sep Tuesday 12pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG13, Computer Suite
15 Sep - 15 Sep Tuesday 12pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG13, Computer Suite
13 Oct - 13 Oct Tuesday 12pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG13, Computer Suite
27 Oct - 27 Oct Tuesday 12pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG13, Computer Suite
Related Class: Tutorial
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
21187 TU01 53 14 28 Jul - 28 Jul Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Engineering Sth, S111, Teaching Room
11 Aug - 11 Aug Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Engineering Sth, S111, Teaching Room
25 Aug - 25 Aug Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Engineering Sth, S111, Teaching Room
8 Sep - 8 Sep Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Engineering Sth, S111, Teaching Room
6 Oct - 6 Oct Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Engineering Sth, S111, Teaching Room
20 Oct - 20 Oct Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Engineering Sth, S111, Teaching Room
21190 TU04 55 28 30 Jul - 30 Jul Thursday 4pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
13 Aug - 13 Aug Thursday 4pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
27 Aug - 27 Aug Thursday 4pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
10 Sep - 10 Sep Thursday 4pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
8 Oct - 8 Oct Thursday 4pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
22 Oct - 22 Oct Thursday 4pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
21192 TU06 55 13 30 Jul - 30 Jul Thursday 9am - 10am Engineering Sth, S112, Teaching Room
13 Aug - 13 Aug Thursday 9am - 10am Engineering Sth, S112, Teaching Room
27 Aug - 27 Aug Thursday 9am - 10am Engineering Sth, S112, Teaching Room
10 Sep - 10 Sep Thursday 9am - 10am Engineering Sth, S112, Teaching Room
8 Oct - 8 Oct Thursday 9am - 10am Engineering Sth, S112, Teaching Room
22 Oct - 22 Oct Thursday 9am - 10am Engineering Sth, S112, Teaching Room
21193 TU07 55 10 30 Jul - 30 Jul Thursday 2pm - 3pm Barr Smith South, 2032, Teaching Room
13 Aug - 13 Aug Thursday 2pm - 3pm Barr Smith South, 2032, Teaching Room
27 Aug - 27 Aug Thursday 2pm - 3pm Barr Smith South, 2032, Teaching Room
10 Sep - 10 Sep Thursday 2pm - 3pm Barr Smith South, 2032, Teaching Room
8 Oct - 8 Oct Thursday 2pm - 3pm Barr Smith South, 2032, Teaching Room
22 Oct - 22 Oct Thursday 2pm - 3pm Barr Smith South, 2032, Teaching Room