University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

CHEM 1521 - Foundations of Chemistry IB (Vet Bioscience)

Career: Undergraduate
Units: 3
Term: 4120
Campus: North Terrace
Contact: Up to 7 hours per week
Restriction: Available to BSc (Veterinary Bioscience) students only without SACE Stage 2 Chemistry Subject Achievement Grade of C+ or greater (under review) or equivalent
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: No
Available for Non-Award Study: No
Assumed Knowledge: CHEM 1511
Incompatible: CHEM 1200, CHEM 1201 & CHEM 1520
Assessment: Exam, online summative work, practical work, lecture tests
Syllabus:

Organic systematic nomenclature; physical properties of organic compounds; functional groups: alcohols, aldehydes and ketones, carboxylic acids, amines, esters, amides and proteins, polymers; metal reactivity/activity series; oxidation numbers; acidic/basic oxides; trends in strength of binary and oxoacids; balancing redox equations under acidic conditions; combustion/fuels; measuring energy changes; kinetics; activation barriers; conditions that affect reaction rates; reaction profiles; gaseous reactions and rate.

Course Fees

To display course fees, please select your status and program below:

Student Status

Domestic
International

What type of place are you studying in

Commonwealth supported
Full fee paying

Study Level

Undergraduate
Postgraduate Coursework
Non Award

Program of Study

Study Abroad student tuition fees are available here

Only some Postgraduate Coursework programs are available as Commonwealth Supported. Please check your program for specific fee information

Units
EFTSL
Amount
3
0.125
          
  


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
4120 Mon 09/08/2021 Wed 18/08/2021 Fri 17/09/2021 Fri 29/10/2021


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
24681 LE01 20 13 26 Jul - 13 Sep Monday 10am - 11am  
28 Jul - 15 Sep Wednesday 9am - 10am  
30 Jul - 17 Sep Friday 10am - 11am  
6 Oct - 27 Oct Wednesday 9am - 10am  
8 Oct - 29 Oct Friday 10am - 11am  
11 Oct - 25 Oct Monday 10am - 11am  
Note: OFFSHORE or INTERSTATE STUDENTS impacted by border restrictions are able to enrol in this course and study remotely, however practical classes where attendance is required will need to be completed when students are onshore in consultation with the Course Coordinator.
Related Class: Practical
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
21795 PR01 10 8 10 Aug - 10 Aug Tuesday 2pm - 5pm  
24 Aug - 24 Aug Tuesday 2pm - 5pm  
7 Sep - 7 Sep Tuesday 2pm - 5pm  
5 Oct - 5 Oct Tuesday 2pm - 5pm  
19 Oct - 19 Oct Tuesday 2pm - 5pm  
24682 PR05 10 8 11 Aug - 11 Aug Wednesday 2pm - 5pm  
25 Aug - 25 Aug Wednesday 2pm - 5pm  
8 Sep - 8 Sep Wednesday 2pm - 5pm  
6 Oct - 6 Oct Wednesday 2pm - 5pm  
20 Oct - 20 Oct Wednesday 2pm - 5pm  
30077 PR20 10 7 8 Sep - 8 Sep Wednesday 2pm - 3pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
6 Oct - 6 Oct Wednesday 2pm - 3pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
20 Oct - 20 Oct Wednesday 2pm - 3pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
Related Class: Workshop
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
23381 WR05 10 7 4 Aug - 15 Sep Wednesday 12pm - 1pm Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
6 Oct - 27 Oct Wednesday 12pm - 1pm Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
23656 WR10 10 10 6 Aug - 17 Sep Friday 1pm - 2pm Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
8 Oct - 5 Nov Friday 1pm - 2pm Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
24815 WR03 10 9 3 Aug - 14 Sep Tuesday 1pm - 2pm Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
5 Oct - 26 Oct Tuesday 1pm - 2pm Lower Napier, LG24, Teaching Room
29876 WR20 1 FULL 4 Aug - 15 Sep Wednesday 12pm - 1pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
6 Oct - 3 Nov Wednesday 12pm - 1pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
Note: This class is for OFFSHORE or INTERSTATE based students only.