University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

CHEM 1201UAC - Foundations of Chemistry IB

Career: Non-Award
Units: 3
Term: Semester 2
Campus: University of Adelaide College
Restriction: Only available to University of Adelaide College students
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: No
Available for Non-Award Study: No
Assumed Knowledge: CHEM 1101UAC
Incompatible: CHEM 1200BR, CHEM 1200UAC
Assessment: Exam, online summative work, practical work, lecture tests
Syllabus:

Organic systematic nomenclature; physical properties of organic compounds; functional groups: alcohols, aldehydes and ketones, carboxylic acids, amines, esters, amides and proteins, polymers; metal reactivity/activity series; oxidation numbers; acidic/basic oxides; trends in strength of binary and oxoacids; balancing redox equations under acidic conditions; combustion/fuels; measuring energy changes; kinetics; activation barriers; conditions that affect reaction rates; reaction profiles; gaseous reactions and rate.

Course Fees

Tuition fees for students undertaking this course are charged by University of Adelaide College.


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
Semester 2 Mon 08/08/2022 Wed 17/08/2022 Fri 16/09/2022 Fri 28/10/2022


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
25407 LE01 20 20 25 Jul - 12 Sep Monday 10am - 11am The Braggs, G60, Bragg Lecture Theatre
27 Jul - 14 Sep Wednesday 9am - 10am The Braggs, G60, Bragg Lecture Theatre
29 Jul - 16 Sep Friday 10am - 11am The Braggs, G60, Bragg Lecture Theatre
5 Oct - 26 Oct Wednesday 9am - 10am The Braggs, G60, Bragg Lecture Theatre
7 Oct - 28 Oct Friday 10am - 11am The Braggs, G60, Bragg Lecture Theatre
10 Oct - 24 Oct Monday 10am - 11am The Braggs, G60, Bragg Lecture Theatre
Related Class: Practical
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
25408 PR01 20 20 9 Aug - 9 Aug Tuesday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
23 Aug - 23 Aug Tuesday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
6 Sep - 6 Sep Tuesday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
4 Oct - 4 Oct Tuesday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
18 Oct - 18 Oct Tuesday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
25409 PR05 20 20 10 Aug - 10 Aug Wednesday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
24 Aug - 24 Aug Wednesday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
7 Sep - 7 Sep Wednesday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
5 Oct - 5 Oct Wednesday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
19 Oct - 19 Oct Wednesday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
25410 PR03 20 20 9 Aug - 9 Aug Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
23 Aug - 23 Aug Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
6 Sep - 6 Sep Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
4 Oct - 4 Oct Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
18 Oct - 18 Oct Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
29894 PR20 20 20 10 Aug - 10 Aug Wednesday 2pm - 3pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
24 Aug - 24 Aug Wednesday 2pm - 3pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
7 Sep - 7 Sep Wednesday 2pm - 3pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
5 Oct - 5 Oct Wednesday 2pm - 3pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
19 Oct - 19 Oct Wednesday 2pm - 3pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
Note: This class is only for OFFSHORE or INTERSTATE based students. Pracs will be need to be completed at a later date in consultation with the course coordinator. The pracs need to be completed to be able to pass the course.