University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

PHYSICS 1100UAC - Physics IA

Career: Non-Award
Units: 3
Term: Semester 1
Campus: University of Adelaide College
Restriction: Only available to University of Adelaide College students
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: No
Available for Non-Award Study: No
Incompatible: PHYSICS 1101BR, PHYSICS 1008BR, PHYSICS 1008UAC
Assessment: Written exam, workshop preparation, practical work & In-Semester tests
Syllabus:

This calculus-based course is the foundation for a major in physics, and also provides a quantitative understanding of physics concepts applicable in biological and geological sciences, and in Engineering. Measurement and uncertainties. Particle mechanics: Newton's law of motion, gravitation, work, energy, conservative forces, momentum, collisions. Thermal physics: heat, temperature, internal energy, kinetic theory of gases, thermodynamic processes. Electricity and magnetism: charge and current, electric field, Ohm's Law, DC circuits, Coulomb and Gauss' laws, electrostatics, capacitance, magnetic field, Ampere and Faraday's laws, inductance, LC circuits. Practical problem solving.

Course Fees

Tuition fees for students undertaking this course are charged by University of Adelaide College.


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
Semester 1 Tue 15/03/2022 Thu 24/03/2022 Fri 06/05/2022 Fri 10/06/2022


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
15588 LE01 5 5 1 Mar - 5 Apr Tuesday 12pm - 1pm Darling West, G14, Darling West Lecture Theatre
3 Mar - 7 Apr Thursday 1pm - 2pm Darling West, G14, Darling West Lecture Theatre
4 Mar - 8 Apr Friday 11am - 12pm Darling West, G14, Darling West Lecture Theatre
26 Apr - 7 Jun Tuesday 12pm - 1pm Darling West, G14, Darling West Lecture Theatre
28 Apr - 9 Jun Thursday 1pm - 2pm Darling West, G14, Darling West Lecture Theatre
29 Apr - 10 Jun Friday 11am - 12pm Darling West, G14, Darling West Lecture Theatre
Related Class: Practical
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
15589 PR03 30 30 15 Mar - 15 Mar Tuesday 2pm - 5pm  
29 Mar - 29 Mar Tuesday 2pm - 5pm  
26 Apr - 26 Apr Tuesday 2pm - 5pm  
10 May - 10 May Tuesday 2pm - 5pm  
24 May - 24 May Tuesday 2pm - 5pm