University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

CHEM 1100UAC - Chemistry IA

Career: Non-Award
Units: 3
Term: Semester 1
Campus: University of Adelaide College
Restriction: Only available to University of Adelaide College students
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: No
Available for Non-Award Study: No
Incompatible: CHEM 1101BR, CHEM 1101UAC
Assessment: Exam, practical work
Syllabus:

Structure Determination - the importance of molecular shape and how chemists determine the structure of compounds using spectroscopic techniques including ultraviolet, infrared and nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy. Acids and Bases - aspects of acid/base equilibria. Atoms to Molecules - structure of the atom and molecular bonding. Periodicity and the Main Group - chemistry of the main group metals and non-metals. Transition Metal Chemistry - an introduction to bonding in transition (d-block) elements, coordination complexes, bioinorganic systems.

Course Fees

Tuition fees for students undertaking this course are charged by University of Adelaide College.


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
Semester 1 Tue 15/03/2022 Thu 24/03/2022 Fri 06/05/2022 Fri 10/06/2022


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
15581 LE01 75 66 28 Feb - 7 Mar Monday 10am - 11am Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
2 Mar - 6 Apr Wednesday 9am - 10am Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
4 Mar - 8 Apr Friday 10am - 11am Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
21 Mar - 4 Apr Monday 10am - 11am Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
27 Apr - 8 Jun Wednesday 9am - 10am Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
29 Apr - 10 Jun Friday 10am - 11am Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
2 May - 6 Jun Monday 10am - 11am Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
Related Class: Tuition
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
13374 TT01 20 11 3 Mar - 7 Apr Thursday 7pm - 9pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
28 Apr - 9 Jun Thursday 7pm - 9pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
Related Class: Practical
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
15582 PR08 10 10 2 Mar - 2 Mar Wednesday 4pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
9 Mar - 9 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
23 Mar - 23 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
6 Apr - 6 Apr Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
4 May - 4 May Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
18 May - 18 May Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
1 Jun - 1 Jun Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
15583 PR12 10 8 3 Mar - 3 Mar Thursday 2pm - 3pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
10 Mar - 10 Mar Thursday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
24 Mar - 24 Mar Thursday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
7 Apr - 7 Apr Thursday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
5 May - 5 May Thursday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
19 May - 19 May Thursday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
2 Jun - 2 Jun Thursday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
15999 PR10 10 8 3 Mar - 3 Mar Thursday 12pm - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
10 Mar - 10 Mar Thursday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
24 Mar - 24 Mar Thursday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
7 Apr - 7 Apr Thursday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
5 May - 5 May Thursday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
19 May - 19 May Thursday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
2 Jun - 2 Jun Thursday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
16000 PR04 10 10 1 Mar - 1 Mar Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
8 Mar - 8 Mar Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
22 Mar - 22 Mar Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
5 Apr - 5 Apr Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
3 May - 3 May Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
17 May - 17 May Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
31 May - 31 May Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
16001 PR20 40 35 16 Mar - 16 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 3pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
30 Mar - 30 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 3pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
27 Apr - 27 Apr Wednesday 2pm - 3pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
11 May - 11 May Wednesday 2pm - 3pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
Note: This class is only for OFFSHORE or INTERSTATE based students. Pracs will be need to be completed at a later date in consultation with the course coordinator. The pracs need to be completed to be able to pass the course.