University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

BIOLOGY 1201UAC - Biology I: Human Perspectives

Career: Non-Award
Units: 3
Term: Semester 2
Campus: University of Adelaide College
Restriction: Available only to University of Adelaide College students
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: No
Available for Non-Award Study: No
Assumed Knowledge: BIOLOGY 1101
Assessment: End of Semester exam, MCQ and theory tests, practical assessment, group research project
Syllabus:

This course builds on fundamentals of biology that have been developed in Molecules, Genes and Cells. The course takes molecular, cellular, whole body, population and evolutionary approaches to understanding biology as it pertains to human function and the interactions of the body with the environment. In many cases, our understanding of human function is best derived for studies of mammalian and non-mammalian organisms, and where appropriate, such models will be discussed. The themes that will be covered include: the organisation of the body, evolution, inheritance, regulation of gene expression, communication and control systems in the body; developmental biology and defence systems. Sessions that provide opportunities to integrate the information and demonstrate how it provides an understanding of normal human function and of disease, will be a regular feature of the course.

Course Fees

Tuition fees for students undertaking this course are charged by University of Adelaide College.


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
Semester 2 Mon 08/08/2022 Wed 17/08/2022 Fri 16/09/2022 Fri 28/10/2022


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Practical
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
21321 PR04 5 5 10 Aug - 10 Aug Wednesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
24 Aug - 24 Aug Wednesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
7 Sep - 7 Sep Wednesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
5 Oct - 5 Oct Wednesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
21322 PR03 5 5 10 Aug - 10 Aug Wednesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
24 Aug - 24 Aug Wednesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
7 Sep - 7 Sep Wednesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
5 Oct - 5 Oct Wednesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
21323 PR02 5 5 9 Aug - 9 Aug Tuesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
23 Aug - 23 Aug Tuesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
6 Sep - 6 Sep Tuesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
4 Oct - 4 Oct Tuesday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
21324 PR01 5 5 11 Aug - 11 Aug Thursday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
25 Aug - 25 Aug Thursday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
8 Sep - 8 Sep Thursday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
6 Oct - 6 Oct Thursday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
24282 PR08 8 8 9 Aug - 9 Aug Tuesday 6pm - 9pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
23 Aug - 23 Aug Tuesday 6pm - 9pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
6 Sep - 6 Sep Tuesday 6pm - 9pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
4 Oct - 4 Oct Tuesday 6pm - 9pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
Related Class: Workshop
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
21326 WR04 5 5 29 Jul - 16 Sep Friday 2pm - 3pm Barr Smith South, 2040, Teaching Room
14 Oct - 28 Oct Friday 2pm - 3pm Barr Smith South, 2040, Teaching Room
21327 WR03 5 5 26 Jul - 13 Sep Tuesday 11am - 12pm Barr Smith South, 2040, Teaching Room
11 Oct - 25 Oct Tuesday 11am - 12pm Barr Smith South, 2040, Teaching Room
21328 WR02 5 5 28 Jul - 15 Sep Thursday 4pm - 5pm Barr Smith South, 2032, Teaching Room
13 Oct - 27 Oct Thursday 4pm - 5pm Barr Smith South, 2032, Teaching Room
21329 WR01 5 5 26 Jul - 13 Sep Tuesday 9am - 10am Mawson, 134, Sprigg Room
11 Oct - 25 Oct Tuesday 9am - 10am Mawson, 134, Sprigg Room
24285 WR07 20 20 26 Jul - 13 Sep Tuesday 11am - 12pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
11 Oct - 25 Oct Tuesday 11am - 12pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
Automatic Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
21319 LE01 18 18 25 Jul - 12 Sep Monday 11am - 12pm The Braggs, G60, Bragg Lecture Theatre
26 Jul - 13 Sep Tuesday 12pm - 1pm The Braggs, G60, Bragg Lecture Theatre
27 Jul - 14 Sep Wednesday 1pm - 2pm The Braggs, G60, Bragg Lecture Theatre
4 Oct - 25 Oct Tuesday 12pm - 1pm The Braggs, G60, Bragg Lecture Theatre
5 Oct - 26 Oct Wednesday 1pm - 2pm The Braggs, G60, Bragg Lecture Theatre
10 Oct - 24 Oct Monday 11am - 12pm The Braggs, G60, Bragg Lecture Theatre
Automatic Enrolment Class: Tuition
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
25162 TT01 24 24 25 Jul - 12 Sep Monday 5pm - 7pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
3 Oct - 24 Oct Monday 5pm - 7pm MyUni, OL, Online Class