University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

GEOLOGY 1103UAC - Building a Habitable Planet

Career: Non-Award
Units: 3
Term: Semester 1
Campus: University of Adelaide College
Restriction: Only available to University of Adelaide College students
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: No
Available for Non-Award Study: No
Assessment: Written exams, assignments, practical work
Syllabus:

This course is about Earth's transformation to a habitable planet. It starts with the construction of the planet in the solar nebula, to Earth's transformation to a warm wet greenhouse planet, through the evolution and extinction events that shaped and still shape life on the planet. We look at the water world that is our earth; the hydrosphere, atmosphere and the oceans. We finish with a look at our human effects on the earth system, and take a look at our extraordinary Australian environment. We undertake a day long field excursion to see some of this environment first-hand.

Course Fees

Tuition fees for students undertaking this course are charged by University of Adelaide College.


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
Semester 1 Tue 15/03/2022 Thu 24/03/2022 Fri 06/05/2022 Fri 10/06/2022


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
10522 LE01 30 17 28 Feb - 4 Apr Monday 1pm - 2pm Mawson, G19, Mawson Lecture Theatre
3 Mar - 7 Apr Thursday 10am - 11am Mawson, G19, Mawson Lecture Theatre
4 Mar - 8 Apr Friday 9am - 10am Mawson, G19, Mawson Lecture Theatre
25 Apr - 6 Jun Monday 1pm - 2pm Mawson, G19, Mawson Lecture Theatre
28 Apr - 9 Jun Thursday 10am - 11am Mawson, G19, Mawson Lecture Theatre
29 Apr - 10 Jun Friday 9am - 10am Mawson, G19, Mawson Lecture Theatre
Related Class: Practical
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
10523 PR02 10 3 2 Mar - 6 Apr Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Mawson, 134, Sprigg Room
27 Apr - 1 Jun Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Mawson, 134, Sprigg Room
11874 PR20 20 14 4 Mar - 8 Apr Friday 12pm - 1pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
29 Apr - 3 Jun Friday 12pm - 1pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
Note: This class is only for OFFSHORE based students.
Automatic Enrolment Class: Fieldwork
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
13522 FL02 30 17 15 May - 15 May Sunday 9am - 5pm External, External, Off Campus
Automatic Enrolment Class: Tuition
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
13378 TT01 24 11 28 Feb - 4 Apr Monday 7pm - 9pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
25 Apr - 6 Jun Monday 7pm - 9pm MyUni, OL, Online Class