University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

MECH ENG 1007UAC - Engineering Mechanics - Dynamics

Career: Non-Award
Units: 3
Term: Semester 2
Campus: University of Adelaide College
Restriction: Only available to University of Adelaide College students
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: No
Available for Non-Award Study: No
Pre-Requisite: CEME 1004 OR TECH 1006 AND MATHS 1011 or MATHS 1013. SACE Stage 2 Maths Studies, Specialist Maths, Physics or equivalent.
Assessment: Mid-Semester test, assignments, laboratory classes and exams
Syllabus:

This course teaches students how to apply Newtonian physics to analyse relatively simple physical mechanisms. - with some emphasis on commonly encountered engineering applications. It follows on from the Statics course, but considers systems that are not in equilibrium i.e. with velocity and acceleration. Some of the topics covered are pure kinematics (a mathematical description of motion only), while others are kinetic (determine motion in problems involving the concepts of force and energy). The course is restricted to 2-D (planar) mechanisms.

Course Fees

Tuition fees for students undertaking this course are charged by University of Adelaide College.


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
Semester 2 Mon 08/08/2022 Wed 17/08/2022 Fri 16/09/2022 Fri 28/10/2022


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Tutorial
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
20895 TU02 25 25 1 Aug - 1 Aug Monday 9am - 10am MyUni, OL, Online Class
15 Aug - 15 Aug Monday 9am - 10am MyUni, OL, Online Class
29 Aug - 29 Aug Monday 9am - 10am MyUni, OL, Online Class
12 Sep - 12 Sep Monday 9am - 10am MyUni, OL, Online Class
10 Oct - 10 Oct Monday 9am - 10am MyUni, OL, Online Class
24 Oct - 24 Oct Monday 9am - 10am MyUni, OL, Online Class
20896 TU01 25 25 1 Aug - 1 Aug Monday 11am - 12pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
15 Aug - 15 Aug Monday 11am - 12pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
29 Aug - 29 Aug Monday 11am - 12pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
12 Sep - 12 Sep Monday 11am - 12pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
10 Oct - 10 Oct Monday 11am - 12pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
24 Oct - 24 Oct Monday 11am - 12pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
Related Class: Practical
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
24194 PR05 10 10 3 Aug - 3 Aug Wednesday 1pm - 4pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
31 Aug - 31 Aug Wednesday 1pm - 4pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
12 Oct - 12 Oct Wednesday 1pm - 4pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
24195 PR04 10 10 3 Aug - 3 Aug Wednesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
31 Aug - 31 Aug Wednesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
12 Oct - 12 Oct Wednesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
24196 PR06 10 10 4 Aug - 4 Aug Thursday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
1 Sep - 1 Sep Thursday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
13 Oct - 13 Oct Thursday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
24197 PR12 10 10 17 Aug - 17 Aug Wednesday 1pm - 4pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
14 Sep - 14 Sep Wednesday 1pm - 4pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
26 Oct - 26 Oct Wednesday 1pm - 4pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
24198 PR11 10 10 17 Aug - 17 Aug Wednesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
14 Sep - 14 Sep Wednesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
26 Oct - 26 Oct Wednesday 10am - 1pm The Braggs, 450, Laboratory
Related Class: Workshop
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
24199 WR01 50 50 15 Sep - 15 Sep Thursday 5pm - 6pm Engineering Nth, N158, Chapman Lecture Theatre
29123 WR10 20 20 15 Sep - 15 Sep Thursday 5pm - 6pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
Automatic Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
25736 LE01 50 50 27 Jul - 14 Sep Wednesday 4pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
5 Oct - 26 Oct Wednesday 4pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class