University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

GENETICS 2510 - Genetics IIA: Foundation of Genetics

Career: Undergraduate
Units: 3
Term: Semester 1
Campus: North Terrace
Contact: Up to 8 hours per week
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: Yes
Available for Non-Award Study: Yes
Pre-Requisite: BIOLOGY 1101 or BIOLOGY 1401 or BIOLOGY 1001, & BIOLOGY 1201 or BIOLOGY 1202 - Students who enrolled in BIOLOGY 1101, 1101ND or 1401 or 1001 only should contact the Course Coordinator to request permission to enrol
Assessment: Exam, tutorial and practical component assessment
Syllabus:

Genetics IIA aims to provide a broad understanding of some of the foundation concepts of genetics. We begin with examining different patterns of inheritance and the nature of genetic linkage and recombination, and discuss mutations and the connection between genotype and phenotype. Further topics include the regulation of gene expression in prokaryotes and eukaryotes. The practical component for this course draws from the MBS Prac A, Prac B and Prac C series. Refer to Study With Us_Student Support_Enrolment Help information at https://sciences.adelaide.edu.au/study/student-support/enrolment-help for further information.

Course Fees

To display course fees, please select your status and program below:

Student Status

Domestic
International

What type of place are you studying in

Commonwealth supported
Full fee paying

Study Level

Undergraduate
Postgraduate Coursework
Non Award

Program of Study

Study Abroad student tuition fees are available here

Only some Postgraduate Coursework programs are available as Commonwealth Supported. Please check your program for specific fee information

Units
EFTSL
Amount
3
0.125
          
  


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
Semester 1 Tue 15/03/2022 Thu 24/03/2022 Fri 06/05/2022 Fri 10/06/2022


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
10748 LE01 180 80 2 Mar - 6 Apr Wednesday 10am - 11am Mawson, G19, Mawson Lecture Theatre
3 Mar - 7 Apr Thursday 10am - 11am Engineering Nth, N158, Chapman Lecture Theatre
27 Apr - 8 Jun Wednesday 10am - 11am Mawson, G19, Mawson Lecture Theatre
28 Apr - 9 Jun Thursday 10am - 11am Engineering Nth, N158, Chapman Lecture Theatre
Note: This course is not available for remote study - not available to students located overseas or interstate. You need to enrol in a separate practical component for this course. Read the 'Learn more about MBS practicals' document found at https://sciences.adelaide.edu.au/study/student-support/enrolment-help under 'Level II BIOCHEM, GENETICS and MICRO Courses' to determine which practical classes you need to enrol in. Contact christopher.wong@adelaide.edu.au for more information.
Related Class: Tutorial
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
10737 TU06 40 10 9 Mar - 9 Mar Wednesday 11am - 1pm Barr Smith South, 1063, Teaching Room
23 Mar - 23 Mar Wednesday 11am - 1pm Barr Smith South, 1063, Teaching Room
6 Apr - 6 Apr Wednesday 11am - 1pm Barr Smith South, 1063, Teaching Room
4 May - 4 May Wednesday 11am - 1pm Barr Smith South, 1063, Teaching Room
18 May - 18 May Wednesday 11am - 1pm Barr Smith South, 1063, Teaching Room
1 Jun - 1 Jun Wednesday 11am - 1pm Barr Smith South, 1063, Teaching Room
11841 TU01 40 29 7 Mar - 7 Mar Monday 10am - 12pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
21 Mar - 21 Mar Monday 10am - 12pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
4 Apr - 4 Apr Monday 10am - 12pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
2 May - 2 May Monday 10am - 12pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
16 May - 16 May Monday 10am - 12pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
30 May - 30 May Monday 10am - 12pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
Note: This course is not available for remote study - not available to students located overseas or interstate.
11842 TU02 40 14 7 Mar - 7 Mar Monday 2pm - 4pm Barr Smith South, 2052, Teaching Room
21 Mar - 21 Mar Monday 2pm - 4pm Barr Smith South, 2052, Teaching Room
4 Apr - 4 Apr Monday 2pm - 4pm Barr Smith South, 2052, Teaching Room
2 May - 2 May Monday 2pm - 4pm Barr Smith South, 2052, Teaching Room
16 May - 16 May Monday 2pm - 4pm Barr Smith South, 2052, Teaching Room
30 May - 30 May Monday 2pm - 4pm Barr Smith South, 2052, Teaching Room
11843 TU03 40 11 10 Mar - 10 Mar Thursday 12pm - 2pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
24 Mar - 24 Mar Thursday 12pm - 2pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
7 Apr - 7 Apr Thursday 12pm - 2pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
5 May - 5 May Thursday 12pm - 2pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
19 May - 19 May Thursday 12pm - 2pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
2 Jun - 2 Jun Thursday 12pm - 2pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
11844 TU04 40 36 11 Mar - 11 Mar Friday 9am - 11am Schulz, 218, Teaching Room
25 Mar - 25 Mar Friday 9am - 11am Schulz, 218, Teaching Room
8 Apr - 8 Apr Friday 9am - 11am Schulz, 218, Teaching Room
6 May - 6 May Friday 9am - 11am Schulz, 218, Teaching Room
20 May - 20 May Friday 9am - 11am Schulz, 218, Teaching Room
3 Jun - 3 Jun Friday 9am - 11am Schulz, 218, Teaching Room