University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

ENV BIOL 2502 - Ecology II

Career: Undergraduate
Units: 3
Term: Semester 2
Campus: North Terrace
Contact: Up to 5 hours per week, plus field trip
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: Yes
Available for Non-Award Study: No
Assumed Knowledge: BIOLOGY 1101 or BIOLOGY 1401 or BIOLOGY 1001 or BIOLOGY 1202
Incompatible: ENV BIOL 2005
Assessment: Practical, field work, exam
Syllabus:

This course introduces the core principles of modern ecology, provides basic skills for the conduction of field studies, and fosters the development of the skills needed for the scientific analysis of ecological systems. The topics are integrated into a conceptual framework that allows students to analyse real situations. Topics include the description and study of biological populations and communities, the factors that determine their properties and dynamics, the patterns and consequences of species diversity, and the biotic and abiotic factors that control the dynamics of ecological systems. Across these topics, the impact of human activities on ecosystem processes is discussed. Case studies are used to illustrate the underlying theory, and the application of the ecological theory to the management of natural resources for use and conservation. The course is relevant for students interested in furthering their understanding of ecological principles, in the management of rangelands, wildlife, fisheries, forests, and human made systems, and in the conservation of natural ecosystems. Details of field trip communicated at start of the course.

Course Fees

To display course fees, please select your status and program below:

Student Status

Domestic
International

What type of place are you studying in

Commonwealth supported
Full fee paying

Study Level

Undergraduate
Postgraduate Coursework
Non Award

Program of Study

Study Abroad student tuition fees are available here

Only some Postgraduate Coursework programs are available as Commonwealth Supported. Please check your program for specific fee information

Units
EFTSL
Amount
3
0.125
          
  


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
Semester 2 Mon 08/08/2022 Wed 17/08/2022 Fri 16/09/2022 Fri 28/10/2022


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
22714 LE01 190 85 25 Jul - 12 Sep Monday 10am - 11am Physics, 103, Kerr Grant Lecture Theatre
27 Jul - 14 Sep Wednesday 1pm - 2pm Mawson, G19, Mawson Lecture Theatre
5 Oct - 26 Oct Wednesday 1pm - 2pm Mawson, G19, Mawson Lecture Theatre
10 Oct - 24 Oct Monday 10am - 11am Physics, 103, Kerr Grant Lecture Theatre
Related Class: Practical
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
20825 PR03 39 14 27 Jul - 27 Jul Wednesday 9am - 12pm Johnson, 111, Computer Suite
10 Aug - 10 Aug Wednesday 9am - 12pm Johnson, 111, Computer Suite
24 Aug - 24 Aug Wednesday 9am - 12pm Johnson, 111, Computer Suite
7 Sep - 7 Sep Wednesday 9am - 12pm Johnson, 111, Computer Suite
5 Oct - 5 Oct Wednesday 9am - 12pm Johnson, 111, Computer Suite
19 Oct - 19 Oct Wednesday 9am - 12pm Johnson, 111, Computer Suite
22715 PR01 60 9 28 Jul - 28 Jul Thursday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
11 Aug - 11 Aug Thursday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
25 Aug - 25 Aug Thursday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
8 Sep - 8 Sep Thursday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
6 Oct - 6 Oct Thursday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
20 Oct - 20 Oct Thursday 2pm - 5pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
22716 PR02 65 36 29 Jul - 29 Jul Friday 9am - 12pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
12 Aug - 12 Aug Friday 9am - 12pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
26 Aug - 26 Aug Friday 9am - 12pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
9 Sep - 9 Sep Friday 9am - 12pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
7 Oct - 7 Oct Friday 9am - 12pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
21 Oct - 21 Oct Friday 9am - 12pm The Braggs, 440, Laboratory
Related Class: Fieldwork
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
22126 FL01 190 85 6 Aug - 6 Aug Saturday 9am - 5pm External, External, Off Campus
20 Aug - 20 Aug Saturday 9am - 5pm External, External, Off Campus
3 Sep - 3 Sep Saturday 9am - 5pm External, External, Off Campus
8 Oct - 8 Oct Saturday 9am - 5pm External, External, Off Campus