University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

PHYSICS 2532 - Classical Physics II

Career: Undergraduate
Units: 3
Term: Semester 2
Campus: North Terrace
Contact: Up to 4 hours per week
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: Yes
Available for Non-Award Study: Yes
Pre-Requisite: PHYSICS 1100, PHYSICS 1200, MATHS 2101 or MATHS 2106, MATHS 2102 - Other students may apply to Head of Physics for exemption
Assessment: Tests, workshop presentation, written exam
Syllabus:

Static equilibrium and dynamics, rotating reference frames, Kepler’s Laws for planetary systems, satellites and comets; orbits for interplanetary space travel, scattering in central force fields, trajectories of near-Earth meteorites. Thermodynamics of interacting systems, including the first and second laws of thermodynamics, concepts of equilibrium and entropy, and applications

Course Fees

To display course fees, please select your status and program below:

Student Status

Domestic
International

What type of place are you studying in

Commonwealth supported
Full fee paying

Study Level

Undergraduate
Postgraduate Coursework
Non Award

Program of Study

Study Abroad student tuition fees are available here

Only some Postgraduate Coursework programs are available as Commonwealth Supported. Please check your program for specific fee information

Units
EFTSL
Amount
3
0.125
          
  


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
Semester 2 Mon 08/08/2022 Wed 17/08/2022 Fri 16/09/2022 Fri 28/10/2022


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
20307 LE01 90 41 25 Jul - 12 Sep Monday 11am - 12pm Napier, G04, Lecture Theatre
26 Jul - 13 Sep Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Badger, G31, Macbeth Lecture Theatre
29 Jul - 16 Sep Friday 10am - 11am Physics, 103, Kerr Grant Lecture Theatre
11 Aug - 11 Aug Thursday 9am - 10am Darling West, G14, Darling West Lecture Theatre
1 Sep - 1 Sep Thursday 9am - 10am Darling West, G14, Darling West Lecture Theatre
3 Oct - 24 Oct Monday 11am - 12pm Napier, G04, Lecture Theatre
4 Oct - 25 Oct Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Badger, G31, Macbeth Lecture Theatre
6 Oct - 6 Oct Thursday 9am - 10am Darling West, G14, Darling West Lecture Theatre
7 Oct - 28 Oct Friday 10am - 11am Physics, 103, Kerr Grant Lecture Theatre
27 Oct - 27 Oct Thursday 9am - 10am Darling West, G14, Darling West Lecture Theatre
Note: The Thursday 9am lecture slot is used for Level II lecture tests and is shared with Physics IIB, Classical Physics II and Electromagnetism II.
Related Class: Workshop
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
20505 WR01 25 FULL 2 Aug - 13 Sep Tuesday 11am - 12pm Lower Napier, LG23, Teaching Room
4 Oct - 25 Oct Tuesday 11am - 12pm Lower Napier, LG23, Teaching Room
24979 WR02 25 1 27 Jul - 14 Sep Wednesday 10am - 11am Lower Napier, LG23, Teaching Room
5 Oct - 26 Oct Wednesday 10am - 11am Lower Napier, LG23, Teaching Room