University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

MECH ENG 7066 - Aeronautical Engineering

Career: Postgraduate Coursework
Units: 3
Term: Semester 1
Campus: North Terrace
Contact: Up to 4 hours per week
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: Yes
Available for Non-Award Study: Yes
Assumed Knowledge: MECH ENG 2021, MECH ENG 2002
Assessment: Assignments, Laboratory Reports, Final Exam
Syllabus:

This is an introductory course to Aeronautical Engineering. In this course you will learn about Aircraft types, Atmosphere Properties, Aircraft Geometries, Forces and Moments, Aerodynamics, Flight Performance, Stability and Control, Thrust, Aircraft Loads, and Helicopter Aerodynamics. The assumed knowledge for this course includes fluid mechanics and thermodynamics in particular understanding of laminar and turbulent flow, control volume analysis, different types of engines, and different types of thermodynamic cycles. The material is presented in a combination of lectures, tutorials and hands-on laboratory sessions.

Course Fees

To display course fees, please select your status and program below:

Student Status

Domestic
International

What type of place are you studying in

Commonwealth supported
Full fee paying

Study Level

Undergraduate
Postgraduate Coursework
Non Award

Program of Study

Study Abroad student tuition fees are available here

Only some Postgraduate Coursework programs are available as Commonwealth Supported. Please check your program for specific fee information

Units
EFTSL
Amount
3
0.125
          
  


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
Semester 1 Tue 15/03/2022 Thu 24/03/2022 Fri 06/05/2022 Fri 10/06/2022


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Workshop
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
12691 WR01 5 4 1 Mar - 5 Apr Tuesday 10am - 12pm Lower Napier, LG28, Lecture Theatre
26 Apr - 7 Jun Tuesday 10am - 12pm Lower Napier, LG28, Lecture Theatre
Note: This class will be delivered both online and face to face. Please refer to MyUni for details once enrolled.
Related Class: Practical
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
11791 PR02 1 1 8 Mar - 8 Mar Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S238, Flight Sim Lab
26 Apr - 26 Apr Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S217, Aerospace Lab
Note: This class is only available for face-to-face (on-campus) students.
12092 PR08 1 1 22 Mar - 22 Mar Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S238, Flight Sim Lab
9 May - 9 May Monday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S217, Aerospace Lab
Note: This class is only available for face-to-face (on-campus) students.
12692 PR07 2 2 25 Mar - 25 Mar Friday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S238, Flight Sim Lab
10 May - 10 May Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S217, Aerospace Lab
Note: This class is only available for face-to-face (on-campus) students.
12693 PR06 2 2 18 Mar - 18 Mar Friday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S238, Flight Sim Lab
3 May - 3 May Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S217, Aerospace Lab
Note: This class is only available for face-to-face (on-campus) students.
12694 PR05 2 2 16 Mar - 16 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S238, Flight Sim Lab
6 May - 6 May Friday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S217, Aerospace Lab
Note: This class is only available for face-to-face (on-campus) students.
12695 PR04 1 1 15 Mar - 15 Mar Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S238, Flight Sim Lab
2 May - 2 May Monday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S217, Aerospace Lab
Note: This class is only available for face-to-face (on-campus) students.
12696 PR03 2 2 9 Mar - 9 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S238, Flight Sim Lab
27 Apr - 27 Apr Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S217, Aerospace Lab
Note: This class is only available for face-to-face (on-campus) students.
12697 PR01 1 FULL 7 Mar - 7 Mar Monday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S238, Flight Sim Lab
25 Apr - 25 Apr Monday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S217, Aerospace Lab
Note: This class is only available for face-to-face (on-campus) students.
12698 PR10 1 1 28 Mar - 28 Mar Monday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S238, Flight Sim Lab
16 May - 16 May Monday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S217, Aerospace Lab
Note: This class is only available for face-to-face (on-campus) students.
12699 PR09 2 2 23 Mar - 23 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S238, Flight Sim Lab
11 May - 11 May Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S217, Aerospace Lab
Note: This class is only available for face-to-face (on-campus) students.
12703 PR13 2 2 4 Apr - 4 Apr Monday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S238, Flight Sim Lab
25 May - 25 May Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S217, Aerospace Lab
Note: This class is only available for face-to-face (on-campus) students.
12704 PR12 2 2 30 Mar - 30 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S238, Flight Sim Lab
18 May - 18 May Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S217, Aerospace Lab
Note: This class is only available for face-to-face (on-campus) students.
12705 PR11 1 1 29 Mar - 29 Mar Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S238, Flight Sim Lab
17 May - 17 May Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S217, Aerospace Lab
Note: This class is only available for face-to-face (on-campus) students.
12708 PR15 2 2 5 Apr - 5 Apr Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S238, Flight Sim Lab
24 May - 24 May Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S217, Aerospace Lab
Note: This class is only available for face-to-face (on-campus) students.
12709 PR14 2 2 6 Apr - 6 Apr Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S238, Flight Sim Lab
23 May - 23 May Monday 2pm - 5pm Engineering Sth, S217, Aerospace Lab
Note: This class is only available for face-to-face (on-campus) students.
19577 PR16 2 2 24 Mar - 24 Mar Thursday 2pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
26 May - 26 May Thursday 2pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
Note: This class is for offshore/interstate students only. Please refer to MyUni for details once enrolled.
Related Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
19310 LEC0 5 4 This class does not have any timetabled face-to-face sessions. Please check MyUni or contact your Course Coordinator for details.