University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

BIOCHEM 3230 - Molecular & Structural Biology III (Biomed Sci)

Career: Undergraduate
Units: 6
Term: Semester 1
Campus: North Terrace
Contact: Up to 23 hours per fortnight
Restriction: Available to BSc (Biomedical Science) students only
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: No
Available for Non-Award Study: No
Pre-Requisite: BIOCHEM 2500 & BIOCHEM 2501 or BIOCHEM 2502
Incompatible: BIOCHEM 3000 and BIOCHEM 3125
Assessment: Exam on lecture, practical reports and online assessment
Syllabus:

This course aims to extend the discussions of protein structure and function presented in the Biochemistry Level II courses and to use this knowledge to gain an understanding of some of the essential processes of molecular biology. The course covers two principle themes: Protein Structure and Function: topics include - structure and function of different classes of proteins, protein folding, targeted protein degradation, the development of new therapies, molecular interactions and recognition. The Control of Gene Expression: topics include; genetic circuits and synthetic biology; chromatin structure and its remodelling during transcription; the recruitment and assembly of transcription factors and the RNA polymerase complex on a gene promoter; artificially manipulating gene expression with the use of "designer genes" and synthetic transcription factors; eukaryote mRNA synthesis, processing, modification, stability and translation, and manipulation of these processes to effect selective gene expression. This course combines lectures and tutorials with cutting edge research-based practical exercises to complement the lecture material.

Course Fees

To display course fees, please select your status and program below:

Student Status

Domestic
International

What type of place are you studying in

Commonwealth supported
Full fee paying

Study Level

Undergraduate
Postgraduate Coursework
Non Award

Program of Study

Study Abroad student tuition fees are available here

Only some Postgraduate Coursework programs are available as Commonwealth Supported. Please check your program for specific fee information

Units
EFTSL
Amount
6
0.25
          
  


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
Semester 1 Tue 15/03/2022 Thu 24/03/2022 Fri 06/05/2022 Fri 10/06/2022


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
11829 LE01 25 6 2 Mar - 6 Apr Wednesday 11am - 12pm Napier, G04, Lecture Theatre
3 Mar - 3 Mar Thursday 11am - 12pm Napier, G04, Lecture Theatre
4 Mar - 8 Apr Friday 9am - 10am Napier, G04, Lecture Theatre
17 Mar - 31 Mar Thursday 11am - 12pm Napier, G04, Lecture Theatre
27 Apr - 8 Jun Wednesday 11am - 12pm Napier, G04, Lecture Theatre
29 Apr - 10 Jun Friday 9am - 10am Napier, G04, Lecture Theatre
5 May - 9 Jun Thursday 11am - 12pm Napier, G04, Lecture Theatre
Note: This course is not available for remote study - not available to students located overseas or interstate.
Related Class: Tutorial
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
10928 TU07 5 FULL 7 Mar - 4 Apr Monday 11am - 12pm Mawson, 134, Sprigg Room
25 Apr - 6 Jun Monday 11am - 12pm Mawson, 134, Sprigg Room
10929 TU06 5 1 8 Mar - 5 Apr Tuesday 11am - 12pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
26 Apr - 7 Jun Tuesday 11am - 12pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
11833 TU02 5 5 8 Mar - 5 Apr Tuesday 12pm - 1pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
26 Apr - 7 Jun Tuesday 12pm - 1pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
12787 TU03 5 FULL 11 Mar - 8 Apr Friday 12pm - 1pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
29 Apr - 10 Jun Friday 12pm - 1pm Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
12788 TU04 5 FULL 10 Mar - 7 Apr Thursday 10am - 11am Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
28 Apr - 9 Jun Thursday 10am - 11am Benham, G25, Peter Martin Room
Automatic Enrolment Class: Practical
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
11831 PR01 35 16 28 Feb - 7 Mar Monday 1pm - 6pm The Braggs, 350, Laboratory
10 Mar - 10 Mar Thursday 1pm - 6pm The Braggs, 350, Laboratory
21 Mar - 4 Apr Monday 1pm - 6pm The Braggs, 350, Laboratory
24 Mar - 24 Mar Thursday 1pm - 6pm The Braggs, 350, Laboratory
7 Apr - 7 Apr Thursday 1pm - 6pm The Braggs, 350, Laboratory
2 May - 2 May Monday 1pm - 6pm The Braggs, 350, Laboratory
Automatic Enrolment Class: PBL Session
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
11830 PB01 25 6 5 May - 5 May Thursday 1pm - 6pm  
9 May - 30 May Monday 1pm - 6pm  
19 May - 19 May Thursday 1pm - 6pm  
2 Jun - 2 Jun Thursday 1pm - 6pm