University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

ELEC ENG 2106 - Vector Calculus & Electromagnetics

Career: Undergraduate
Units: 3
Term: Semester 2
Campus: North Terrace
Contact: Up to 4 hours per week
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: Yes
Available for Non-Award Study: Yes
Pre-Requisite: MATHS 1012
Assessment: Assignments, tests, exam
Syllabus:

The first half of the course covers calculus in several variables, vectors, curves, surfaces, gradients, line integrals, surface integrals, vector fields, Green's and Stokes's theorems, cylindrical and spherical coordinates. The second half of the course builds on the first half and provides the foundations of electromagnetic theory for applications in electrical and electronic engineering. Topics include electrostatics, Gauss's law, magnetostatics, Ampere's law, electric and magnetic fields in materials.

Course Fees

To display course fees, please select your status and program below:

Student Status

Domestic
International

What type of place are you studying in

Commonwealth supported
Full fee paying

Study Level

Undergraduate
Postgraduate Coursework
Non Award

Program of Study

Study Abroad student tuition fees are available here

Only some Postgraduate Coursework programs are available as Commonwealth Supported. Please check your program for specific fee information

Units
EFTSL
Amount
3
0.125
          
  


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
Semester 2 Mon 08/08/2022 Wed 17/08/2022 Fri 16/09/2022 Fri 28/10/2022


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Workshop
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
22283 WR01 130 31 25 Jul - 12 Sep Monday 12pm - 1pm Engineering Sth, S112, Teaching Room
27 Jul - 14 Sep Wednesday 11am - 12pm Engineering Sth, S112, Teaching Room
29 Jul - 16 Sep Friday 10am - 11am Engineering Sth, S112, Teaching Room
3 Oct - 24 Oct Monday 12pm - 1pm Engineering Sth, S112, Teaching Room
5 Oct - 26 Oct Wednesday 11am - 12pm Engineering Sth, S112, Teaching Room
7 Oct - 28 Oct Friday 10am - 11am Engineering Sth, S112, Teaching Room
Note: This class will be delivered both online and face to face. Please refer to MyUni for details once enrolled.
Related Class: Practical
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
20397 PR04 40 3 11 Aug - 11 Aug Thursday 9am - 11am Ingkarni Wardli, B15, CAT Suite
25 Aug - 25 Aug Thursday 9am - 11am Ingkarni Wardli, B15, CAT Suite
8 Sep - 8 Sep Thursday 9am - 11am Ingkarni Wardli, B15, CAT Suite
6 Oct - 6 Oct Thursday 9am - 11am Ingkarni Wardli, B15, CAT Suite
20 Oct - 20 Oct Thursday 9am - 11am Ingkarni Wardli, B15, CAT Suite
Note: This class is only available for face-to-face (on-campus) students.
20398 PR03 40 33 12 Aug - 12 Aug Friday 11am - 1pm Ingkarni Wardli, B15, CAT Suite
26 Aug - 26 Aug Friday 11am - 1pm Ingkarni Wardli, B15, CAT Suite
9 Sep - 9 Sep Friday 11am - 1pm Ingkarni Wardli, B15, CAT Suite
7 Oct - 7 Oct Friday 11am - 1pm Ingkarni Wardli, B15, CAT Suite
21 Oct - 21 Oct Friday 11am - 1pm Ingkarni Wardli, B15, CAT Suite
Note: This class is only available for face-to-face (on-campus) students.
20399 PR02 40 12 11 Aug - 11 Aug Thursday 11am - 1pm Ingkarni Wardli, B15, CAT Suite
25 Aug - 25 Aug Thursday 11am - 1pm Ingkarni Wardli, B15, CAT Suite
8 Sep - 8 Sep Thursday 11am - 1pm Ingkarni Wardli, B15, CAT Suite
6 Oct - 6 Oct Thursday 11am - 1pm Ingkarni Wardli, B15, CAT Suite
20 Oct - 20 Oct Thursday 11am - 1pm Ingkarni Wardli, B15, CAT Suite
Note: This class is only available for face-to-face (on-campus) students.
20400 PR01 40 28 9 Aug - 9 Aug Tuesday 9am - 11am Ingkarni Wardli, B15, CAT Suite
23 Aug - 23 Aug Tuesday 9am - 11am Ingkarni Wardli, B15, CAT Suite
6 Sep - 6 Sep Tuesday 9am - 11am Ingkarni Wardli, B15, CAT Suite
4 Oct - 4 Oct Tuesday 9am - 11am Ingkarni Wardli, B15, CAT Suite
18 Oct - 18 Oct Tuesday 9am - 11am Ingkarni Wardli, B15, CAT Suite
Note: This class is only available for face-to-face (on-campus) students.
25320 PR05 40 25 10 Aug - 10 Aug Wednesday 3pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
24 Aug - 24 Aug Wednesday 3pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
7 Sep - 7 Sep Wednesday 3pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
5 Oct - 5 Oct Wednesday 3pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
19 Oct - 19 Oct Wednesday 3pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
Note: This class is for offshore/interstate students only. Please refer to MyUni for details once enrolled.
Related Class: Tutorial
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
20402 TU03 30 14 28 Jul - 15 Sep Thursday 2pm - 3pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
6 Oct - 27 Oct Thursday 2pm - 3pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
Note: This class is only available for face-to-face (on-campus) students.
20403 TU02 40 10 26 Jul - 13 Sep Tuesday 2pm - 3pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG06, Teaching Room
4 Oct - 25 Oct Tuesday 2pm - 3pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG06, Teaching Room
Note: This class is only available for face-to-face (on-campus) students.
20404 TU01 40 1 26 Jul - 13 Sep Tuesday 1pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
4 Oct - 25 Oct Tuesday 1pm - 2pm Engineering & Mathematics, EMG07, Teaching Room
Note: This class is only available for face-to-face (on-campus) students.
25321 TU05 40 30 29 Jul - 16 Sep Friday 4pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
7 Oct - 28 Oct Friday 4pm - 5pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
Note: This class is for offshore/interstate students only. Please refer to MyUni for details once enrolled.