University Course Planner The University of Adelaide Australia

CHEM 1100UAC - Chemistry IA

Career: Non-Award
Units: 3
Term: Semester 1
Campus: University of Adelaide College
Restriction: Only available to University of Adelaide College students
Available for Study Abroad and Exchange: No
Available for Non-Award Study: No
Incompatible: CHEM 1101BR, CHEM 1101UAC
Assessment: Exam, practical work
Syllabus:

Structure Determination - the importance of molecular shape and how chemists determine the structure of compounds using spectroscopic techniques including ultraviolet, infrared and nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy. Acids and Bases - aspects of acid/base equilibria. Atoms to Molecules - structure of the atom and molecular bonding. Periodicity and the Main Group - chemistry of the main group metals and non-metals. Transition Metal Chemistry - an introduction to bonding in transition (d-block) elements, coordination complexes, bioinorganic systems.

Course Fees

Tuition fees for students undertaking this course are charged by University of Adelaide College.


Course Outline

A Course Outline which includes Learning Outcomes, Learning Resources, Learning & Teaching for this course may be accessed here


Critical Dates

Term Last Day to Add Online Census Date Last Day to WNF Last Day to WF
Semester 1 Tue 14/03/2023 Thu 23/03/2023 Fri 05/05/2023 Fri 09/06/2023


Class Details

Enrolment Class: Lecture
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
15419 LE01 75 69 1 Mar - 5 Apr Wednesday 9am - 10am Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
3 Mar - 7 Apr Friday 10am - 11am Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
6 Mar - 13 Mar Monday 10am - 11am Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
27 Mar - 3 Apr Monday 10am - 11am Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
26 Apr - 7 Jun Wednesday 9am - 10am Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
28 Apr - 9 Jun Friday 10am - 11am Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
8 May - 5 Jun Monday 10am - 11am Scott Theatre, 001, Scott Theatre
Related Class: Practical
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
15420 PR08 8 8 1 Mar - 1 Mar Wednesday 4pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
8 Mar - 8 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
22 Mar - 22 Mar Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
5 Apr - 5 Apr Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
3 May - 3 May Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
17 May - 17 May Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
31 May - 31 May Wednesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
15855 PR10 8 3 2 Mar - 2 Mar Thursday 12pm - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
9 Mar - 9 Mar Thursday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
23 Mar - 23 Mar Thursday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
6 Apr - 6 Apr Thursday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
4 May - 4 May Thursday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
18 May - 18 May Thursday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
1 Jun - 1 Jun Thursday 10am - 1pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
15856 PR04 8 8 28 Feb - 28 Feb Tuesday 3pm - 4pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
7 Mar - 7 Mar Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
21 Mar - 21 Mar Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
4 Apr - 4 Apr Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
2 May - 2 May Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
16 May - 16 May Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
30 May - 30 May Tuesday 2pm - 5pm Johnson, 106, Laboratory
15857 PR20 10 9 15 Mar - 15 Mar Wednesday 1pm - 2pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
29 Mar - 29 Mar Wednesday 1pm - 2pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
26 Apr - 26 Apr Wednesday 1pm - 2pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
10 May - 10 May Wednesday 1pm - 2pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
Note: This class is for OFFSHORE students only.
Automatic Enrolment Class: Tuition
Class Nbr Section Size Available Dates Days Time Location
19940 TT01 24 18 3 Mar - 7 Apr Friday 7pm - 9pm MyUni, OL, Online Class
28 Apr - 2 Jun Friday 7pm - 9pm MyUni, OL, Online Class